England's Robshaw rested

2013-05-08 17:16
Chris Robshaw (AFP)
London - England captain Chris Robshaw was on Wednesday left out of England's 32-man squad announced for a fixture with the Barbarians and a three-match tour of Uruguay and Argentina.

Other England regulars omitted were the Harlequin flanker's teammate Danny Care, Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers), Brad Barritt and Chris Ashton (both Saracens).

Robshaw is being rested despite having made it clear he was keen to tour after missing out on selection for the British and Irish Lions.

Captained by Northampton's Tom Wood, the England squad includes five players who are 21 or under, the youngest of whom is Wasps No 8 Billy Vunipola, who represented England Under 20s last year.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: "We're really looking forward to this tour and we've selected a young and exciting side which I'm sure will do the country proud in a tough series of matches.

"The key principles in selection were threefold: first and foremost to win the games but also to develop strength in depth and more options in certain positions, and to give one or two players a physical and mental break.

"Tom Wood will captain the side and I am sure he will do a fantastic job as he has the respect of all the players and management and we are looking forward to other leaders developing in the absence of some senior players.

"A few are being rested after a hard campaign but they will, of course, be considered by the British & Irish Lions should they be required."

England squad:

Backs (14): Mike Brown (Harlequins), Freddie Burns (Gloucester), Lee Dickson (Northampton), Kyle Eastmond* (Bath), Ben Foden (Northampton), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (London Irish), Jonny May* (Gloucester), David Strettle (Saracens), Joel Tomkins (Saracens)*, Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester), Christian Wade* (Wasps), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Marland Yarde* (London Irish)

Forwards (18): Dave Attwood (Bath), Rob Buchanan* (Harlequins), Calum Clark* (Northampton), Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), Paul Doran Jones (Northampton), Tom Johnson (Exeter), Matt Kvesic* (Worcester), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Ben Morgan (Gloucester), David Paice (London Irish), Ed Slater* (Leicester), Henry Thomas* (Sale), Billy Vunipola* (Wasps), Rob Webber (Bath), David Wilson (Bath), Tom Wood (Northampton, capt)

Note* = uncapped

Read more on:    chris robshaw  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.