EP Kings name Vodacom Cup squad

2015-01-31 08:46
EP Kings (File)

Port Elizabeth - The EP Kings on Friday announced a 38-man squad as preparations step up a gear for their 2015 Vodacom Cup campaign.

Notable new additions among the squad are Cornell Hess and Dylan Frylinck, who have both secured contracts for the Vodacom Cup season following trials earlier this month, as well as Vukile Sofisa and Sphu Msuthwana who move up from last year’s Under-21 squad and CJ Velleman, who captained the Under-19 squad last year.

Also named in the squad are new signings Tazz Fuzani, Jan Uys, Eital Bredenkamp and Tony Jantjies.

Injured players who are not expected to be available for the Vodacom Cup competition include Darron Nell (neck), Charl du Plessis (neck), Dwayne Jenner (ACL) and Samora Fihlani (Knee).

Vodacom Cup head coach, Mzwandile Stick said he was happy with the condition of the players, saying they had worked hard during the off season and in pre-season training.

“We have a great group of players, with a good combination of both senior and young up and coming talent,” he said.

Stick said the focus was now on introducing more rugby specific elements to the training sessions, and developing the game plan for the campaign.

“We will also be working hard to maintain the fitness of the players and getting their skills level up ahead of the competition,” he said.

Stick said he was confident ahead of the Vodacom Cup, but would be taking the competition one game at a time.

“We have the best possible players to select from, including all those who played Currie Cup Premier Division last year, so we are very confident going into this competition, we want to win it,” he said.

“We want to build on last year and get the players’ confidence up ahead of the Currie Cup season this year,” Stick said.

EP squad:

Forwards: Charles Marais, Vukile Sofisa, Lizo Gqoboka, Michael van Vuuren, Martin Ferreira, Edgar Marutlulle, Simon Kerrod, Tom Botha, CJ van der Linde, David Bulbring, Cornell Hess, Cameron Lindsay, Tazz Fuzani, Jan Uys, Shaun McDonald, Eital Bredenkamp, CJ Velleman, Thembelani Bholi, Paul Schoeman, Stefan Willemse, Tim Agaba, Aidon Davis, Luke Watson

Backs: Kevin Luiters, Dylan Frylinck, Jaco Grobler, Gary van Aswegen, Tony Jantjies, George Whitehead, Siyanda Grey, Marlou van Niekerk, Sphu Msuthwana, Shane Gates, Tim Whitehead, Ronnie Cooke, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Scott van Breda, Hansie Graaff


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.