Du Preez is Bulls' best

2009-01-14 21:34

Pretoria - Springbok scrumhalf Fourie du Preez was named as the Vodacom Bulls and Blue Bulls Player of the Year for 2008 at a glittering occasion at Utopia Place in Lynnwood on Wednesday evening.

Du Preez, a former SA Player of the year, captained the Bulls during the Super 14 campaign and throughout the competition showed the form that reinforced why he is regarded by many as the world’s best scrumhalf.

The young openside flanker Deon Stegmann’s performances in all 13 of the Bulls’ matches earned him the award as the Bulls’ Forward of the Year and the trophy for the best back went to Morne Steyn, who played flyhalf, centre and fullback during the Super 14 series.

In the Currie Cup competition Gurthro Steenkamp’s excellent play in the tight and tight-loose facets and his defence around the rucks made him the Absa Currie Cup Forward of the Year while Wynand Olivier’s scintillating runs and general form earned him the award as Currie Cup Back of the Year.

Gerrit-Jan van Velze captained South Africa’s Under-20 side as well as the Under-21 Blue Bulls and led the national side to the final of the Junior World Cup and the Bulls to the provincial title in an unbeaten season respectively. He was named as the Blue Bulls’ Junior Player of the Year.

Fellow loose-forward Okkkie Kruger was the juniors’ Forward of the Year and Burton Francis received the award as the best back among the juniors.

Try-scoring machine John Mametsa received the Media Award.

Awards: Vodacom Bulls/ Blue Bulls Player of the Year: Fourie du Preez

Vodacom Super 14 Forward of the Year: Deon Stegmann

Vodacom Super 14 Back of the Year: Morne Steyn

Absa Currie Cup Forward of the Year: Gurthro Steenkamp

Absa Currie Cup Back of the Year: Wynand Olivier

Junior Player of the Year: Gerrit-Jan van Velze

Junior Forward of the Year: Ockert Kruger Junior Back of the Year: Burton Francis

Media Award: John Mametsa.

Best try of the year: Tiger Mangweni for his try against WP in the Currie Cup


  • Mark - 2009-01-15 07:46

    But the Sharks are still the CURRIE CUP CHAMPS, who cares about the bully boys anyway?

  • Bulls fan - 2009-01-15 08:54

    Mark go lay an egg.

  • pages:
  • 1