Currie Cup

WP thump Griquas to move into playoff spot

2017-09-23 19:14
Werner Kok (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Western Province moved into a Currie Cup playoff spot after a convincing win over Griquas at Newlands on Saturday.

The hosts ran in eight tries to claim a 55-27 bonus-point victory.

It was a must-win game for WP following their disappointing loss to the Pumas in Nelspruit last week.

They were under pressure early on when Griquas took a 13-3 lead but relentless pressure eventually told on a game Griquas.

WP led 24-13 at half-time, before taking full control in the second period to avenge their defeat in Kimberley earlier in the competition.

The win saw WP move up to third on the overall Currie Cup standings, three points behind the second-placed Free State Cheetahs.

Griquas, meanwhile, remain rooted to the bottom with just two wins from 10 games.

In next weekend’s action, WP travel to Pretoria to tackle the Blue Bulls (Sunday, October 1 - 14:30), while Griquas host the Free State Cheetahs in Kimberley (Saturday, September 30 - 14:00).


Western Province

Tries: Cobus Wiese, Chad Solomon, Werner Kok (2), Dean Muir, Johan du Toit, Caylib Oosthuizen (2)
Conversions: Damian Willemse (4), Robert du Preez (2)
Penalty: Willemse


Tries: Ederies Arendse, Renier Botha, Tertius Kruger
Conversions: George Whitehead (2), Eric Zana
Penalties: Whitehead (2)


Western Province

15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Werner Kok, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

Susbtitutes: 16 Dean Muir, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Johan du Toit, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Ruhan Nel


15 Eric Zana, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Tertius Kruger, 11 Enver Brandt, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Renier Botha, 8 Kevin Kaba, 7 Sias Koen (captain), 6 De Wet Kruger, 5 Sintu Manjezi, 4 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 3 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Devon Martinus

Substitutes: 16 AJ le Roux, 17 Liam Hendricks, 18 Shaun McDonald, 19 Conway Pretorius, 20 Christiaan Meyer, 21 Christopher Bosch, 22 AJ Coertzen

Read more on:    wp  |  griquas  |  currie cup  |  cape town  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.