Currie Cup

WP dig deep to beat Blue Bulls in Newlands humdinger

2018-10-20 19:25
WP v Blue Bulls (Gallo Images)
WP v Blue Bulls (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Western Province had to dig deep before finally overcoming a valiant Blue Bulls side in extra time in their Currie Cup semi-final at Newlands on Saturday.

As it happened: WP v Blue Bulls

WP, who trailed 17-15 at half-time, eventually ran out 35-32 winners after it took 20 minutes of additional time to separate the sides.

WP fans were left tearing out their hair after they botched a scrum on their own 5m line while leading 32-27 - with the 80-minute hooter having sounded - only to see Blitzboks star Dylan Sage score in the corner.

Bulls pivot Manie Libbok's potential match-winning conversion sailed high and wide to the right to send the match into extra time.

A ding-dong period of extra time saw the only change in scoring a SP Marais penalty in the second 10-minute stanza.

WP will host the Sharks in next weekend's final after the KwaZulu-Natal side beat the Golden Lions 33-24 in Durban to book their place in the 2018 decider.


Western Province

Tries: SP Marais, Paul de Wet

Conversions: Marais (2)

Penalties: Marais (7)

Blue Bulls

Tries: Ruan Steenkamp, Duncan Matthews, Manie Libbok, Dylan Sage

Conversions: Libbok (3)

Penalties: Libbok (2)


Western Province 

15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 SP Marais, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ali Vermaak

Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Jaco Coetzee, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Josh Stander, 23 JJ Engelbrecht

Blue Bulls

Read more on:    blue bulls  |  wp  |  currie cup  |  pretoria  |  cape town  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.