Currie Cup

Star player Maritz returns for Pumas

2016-09-15 08:47
Hoffman Maritz (supplied)

Cape Town - The Pumas have made most of their changes in the backline for Saturday’s Currie Cup fixture against Western Province at Newlands as they search for an elusive first victory in the competition.

Centre Hoffman Maritz, who was the Pumas' Currie Cup Player of the Year in 2015, makes his first appearance of this year’s campaign after recovering from surgery on a hamstring tear.

Maritz will slot in at outside centre, with Hennie Skorbinski moving to number 12 and Marlou van Niekerk dropping out of the squad with an ankle injury. Having served a one match suspension, Tyler Fisher is on the bench as backline cover.

"Hoffman is one guy we’ve really missed this season and it’s exciting to have him back. We’ll look to him to really shore up the midfield and provide some impact with ball in hand," said Pumas coach MJ Mentz. 

Ruwellyn Isbell, who injected spark into the backline as a substitute against the Blue Bulls, has earned a starting spot at right wing ahead of Bernado Botha, who is out of the match day squad.

There is one confirmed change to the forward pack so far, with Khwezi Mona coming in for De-Jay Tereblanche at loosehead prop.

Mentz said that his team’s run of five losses stems from a lack of execution rather than the wrong game plan.

"There hasn’t been a single game where we feel we correctly executed the things we do in training. We’ve done a lot of work on set pieces in training as this is an area which has let us down. We’ll also look to keep the ball in hand and play with some freedom," said Mentz.  

The match at Newlands kicks off at 17:10. 


Western Province

15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Werner Kok, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Kobus van Dyk, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Mike Willemse, 1 Alistair Vermaak.

Substitutes: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 JP Smith, 19 Jurie van Vuuren, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Dewaldt Duvenage, 22 Scott van Breda


15 Devon Williams, 14 Ruwellyn Isbell, 13 Hoffman Maritz, 12 Hennie Skorbinski, 11 JP Lewis, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Emile Temperman, 8 Renaldo Bothma (captain), 7 Lambert Groenewald, 6 Brian Shabangu, 5 Jannie Stander, 4 Stephan Greef, 3 Louis Albertse, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Khwezi Mona

Substitutes: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 De Jay Terblanche, 18 Hugo Kloppers, 19 Carel Greeff, 20 Kevin Luiters, 21 Heinrich Steyl, 22 Tyler Fisher

Read more on:    pumas  |  western province  |  currie cup  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.