Currie Cup

Sharks sink Bulls at wet Kings Park

2017-09-23 16:44
S'busiso Nkosi (Gallo Images)

Durban - The Sharks maintained their Currie Cup winning streak to nine matches when they beat the Blue Bulls at a wet Kings Park on Saturday.

The hosts won 18-5, after leading 12-0 at the break.

In a game played in treacherous conditions, the Sharks outscored their opponents by two tries to one, with the boot of flyhalf Curwin Bosch also proving vital.

Bosch orchestrated winger S'busiso Nkosi first half try with a clever cross-kick, while a second half drop goal contributed to his man-of-the-match accolade.

The Sharks’ victory has taken them 13 points clear at the top of the standings and also secured a home semi-final.

They have won nine of 10 games, with their only loss coming in Round 1 when they sent a second-string outfit to Bloemfontein to duel the Free State Cheetahs.

The Bulls, meanwhile, have won just three out of nine games and sit second from bottom and are unlikely to make the playoffs.

In next weekend's action, the Sharks host the Golden Lions in Durban (Friday, September 29 - 19:15), while the Blue Bulls entertain Western Province in Pretoria (Sunday, October 1 - 14:30).



Tries: S'busiso Nkosi, Keegan Daniel
Conversion: Curwin Bosch
Penalty: Bosch
Drop goal: Bosch

Blue Bulls

Try: Aston Fortuin



15 Garth April, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Sbu Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Thomas du Toit

Substitutes: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Jean Droste, 19 Tera Mtembu, 20 Cameron Wright, 21 Tristan Blewett, 22 Rhyno Smith

Blue Bulls

15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Duncan Matthews, 13 Burger Odendaal (captain), 12 JT Jackson, 11 Johnny Kotze, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Jano Venter, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Nic de Jager, 5 Aston Fortuin, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Pierre Schoeman

Substitutes: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Matthys Basson, 18 Tim Agaba, 19 Marco van Staden, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Handre Pollard, 22 Ulrich Beyers

Read more on:    sharks  |  blue bulls  |  currie cup  |  pretoria  |  durban  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.