Currie Cup

Sharks edge WP to make it five in a row

2017-08-26 16:47
Dillyn Leyds (Gallo)

Cape Town - The Sharks scored late to earn a 21-20 Currie Cup win over Western Province at Newlands on Saturday. 

The win means that the Durbanites have now won their last five fixtures in the tournament and they go to the top of the log, though the Free State Cheetahs can reclaim that spot if they beat the Golden Lions later in the day. 

The Sharks had the perfect start when a dominant rolling maul resulted in referee Jaco Peyper awarding them a penalty try. 

Province, though, hit back with two tries through Huw Jones and Jaco Coetzee to take the lead. 

A try from Sharks hooker Franco Marais just before half-time meant that the visitors went into the break 17-14 down. 

The second half saw the Sharks dominate territory, but they could not turn that pressure into points. 

A penalty from Damian Willemse stretched the WP lead to 20-14, but when substitute Steph de Wit was sin-binned for the hosts on 70 minutes, the Sharks would have fancied their chances. 

With five minutes to go, the Sharks finally got their reward when Inny Radebe went crashing over near the left touchline. 

It left a tough conversion for Rhyno Smith, who showed good composure to add the extras and give his side a 21-20 lead. 


Western Province 20 (17)

Tries: Huw Jones, Jaco Coetzee

Conversions: Damian Willemse (2)

Penalties: Willemse (2)

Sharks 21 (14)

Tries: Penalty try, Franco Marais, Inny Radebe

Conversions: Radebe, Rhyno Smith


Western Province

15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Ruhan Nel, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg

Substitutes: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Michael Kumbirai, 18 Eddie Zandberg, 19 Steph de Wit, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Dan Kriel


15 Inny Radebe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Lukhanyo Am, 11 S'bu Nkosi, 10 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Jean Droste, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Juan Schoeman

Substitutes: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Wian Vosloo, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Rhyno Smith, 22 Odwa Ndungane

Read more on:    sharks  |  western province  |  currie cup  |  cape town  |  durban  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.