Currie Cup

Sharks easy winners over Pumas

2016-08-05 23:11
Odwa Ndungane (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Sharks managed a comfortable 33-10 bonus-point victory over the Pumas in their opening Currie Cup game in Nelspruit on Friday.

New head coach Robert du Preez will be pleased with his side's performance, especially away from home, taking into account how many opportunities they missed to score even more tries.

The Pumas, in contrast, will be disappointed to start their campaign with such a disjointed performance. They didn't offer much on attack and their defence was thoroughly tested by the visitors throughout the game.

The Sharks, who missed out on last year's playoffs, have clearly signalled their intent to make amends. The game was played with good intensity and plenty of attacking intent, although the Sharks were much more threatening in that aspect of the match. They also played at a high tempo for most of the game and the Pumas struggled to cope with the onslaught.

The visitors were 14-10 ahead inside the first half hour thanks to tries from Franco Marais and Odwa Ndungane. The visitors played with plenty of freedom, but their execution let them down at times as several attacking moves were made undone by forward passes.

Nevertheless, the Sharks scored a fantastic team try through S'bura Sithole with some slick handling, off-loading in the tackle and their ability to quickly recycle the ball.

The Pumas had their chances, most notably a 5m line-out on the Sharks tryline but they conceded possession to let the visitors off the hook.

Ruan Botha made sure of the result and the bonus point after a pick-up from a rolling maul before Andre Esterhuizen extended the lead to a dominant 33-10. 



Tries: Herne
Conversion: Brummer
Penalty: Brummer


Tries: Marais, Ndungane, Sithole, Botha, Esterhuizen
Conversions: Bosch (4)



15 Justin van Staden, 14 JP Lewis, 13 Hennie Skorbinski, 12 Marlou van Niekerk, 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Reynier van Rooyen, 8 Carel Greeff, 7 Lambert Groenewald, 6 Brian Shabangu, 5 Hugo Kloppers (captain), 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Dee-Jay Terblanche, 2 Frankie Herne, 1 Kwezi Mona

Replacements: 16 Swys du Toit, 17 Yskas Kotzé, 18 Wiehan Hay,19 Marnus Schoeman, 20 Emile Temperman, 21 Devon Williams, 22 Deon Helberg


15 Odwa Ndungane, 14 Neil Maritz, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 S'bura Sithole, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Dale Chadwick

Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Ruan Botha, 19 Tera Mtembu, 20 Stefan Ungerer, 21 Inny Radebe, 22 Heimar Williams

Referee: Jaco Peyper

Assistant Referees: Pro Legoete, Ricus van der Hoven

Read more on:    pumas  |  sharks  |  currie cup  |  odwa ndungane  |  nelspruit  |  durban  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.