Currie Cup

Roll of honour: Currie Cup winners

2017-10-25 11:43
Currie Cup (File)

Cape Town - South Africa's premier domestic rugby tournament dates back some 128 years to 1889 - the year in which the South African Rugby Board was founded.

READ: A history of Sharks v Western Province Currie Cup finals

In that maiden season only four teams took part - Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province.

Fast forward 128 years and seven teams took part in this year's Currie Cup tournament which will culminate on Saturday at Kings Park in Durban when the Sharks host Western Province.

Kick-off is at 16:00.

Past winners:

1889: Western Province at a tournament in Kimberley 
1892: Western Province at a tournament in Kimberley
1894: Western Province at a tournament at Newlands 
1895: Western Province at a tournament in Johannesburg
1897: Western Province at a tournament in Port Elizabeth
1898: Western Province at a tournament at Newlands
1899: Griquas at a tournament in Kimberley
1904: Western Province at a tournament in East London
1906: Western Province at a tournament in Johannesburg
1908: Western Province at a tournament in Port Elizabeth
1911: Griquas at a tournament at Newlands
1914: Western Province at a tournament in Durban
1920: Western Province at a tournament in Bloemfontein & Kimberley
1922: Transvaal
1925: Western Province
1927: Western Province
1929: Western Province
1932: Western Province & Border
1934: Western Province & Border 
1936: Western Province
1939: Transvaal - the first final
1946: Northern Transvaal
1947: Western Province
1950: Transvaal
1952: Transvaal
1954: Western Province
1956: Northern Transvaal
1957-59: Western Province
1964: Western Province
1966: Western Province
1968: Northern Transvaal
1969: Northern Transvaal
1970: Griquas
1971: Northern Transvaal & Transvaal
1972: Transvaal
1973: Northern Transvaal
1974: Northern Transvaal
1975: Northern Transvaal
1976: Free State
1977: Northern Transvaal
1978: Northern Transvaal
1979: Western Province & Northern Transvaal
1980: Northern Transvaal
1981: Northern Transvaal
1982: Western Province
1983: Western Province
1984: Western Province
1985: Western Province
1986: Western Province
1987: Northern Transvaal
1988: Northern Transvaal
1989: Northern Transvaal & Western Province
1990: Natal
1991: Northern Transvaal
1992: Natal
1993: Transvaal
1994: Transvaal
1995: Natal
1996: Natal
1997: Western Province
1998: Blue Bulls
1999: Lions
2000: Western Province
2001: Western Province
2002: Blue Bulls
2003: Blue Bulls
2004: Blue Bulls
2005: Free State
2006: Blue Bulls & Free State
2007: Free State
2008: Natal Sharks
2009: Blue Bulls
2010: Natal Sharks
2011: Golden Lions
2012: Western Province
2013: Sharks
2014: Western Province
2015: Golden Lions
2016: Free State Cheetahs
2017: Western Province

Number of titles won:

34 - Western Province (including 4 shared)
23 - Blue Bulls (including 4 shared)
11 - Golden Lions (including 1 shared)
7 - Natal
5 - Free State (including 1 shared)
3 - Griquas
2 - Border (both shared)

Read more on:    currie cup  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.