Currie Cup

Pollard gets spot on Bulls bench

2017-09-21 12:23
Handre Pollard (Gallo)

Pretoria - Springbok flyhalf Handre Pollard has been named on the Blue Bulls bench for Saturday’s Currie Cup clash against the Sharks in Durban.

Pollard was one of seven Springboks released for Currie Cup action this weekend, but the Bulls coach opted against picking Pollard in his starting XV.

Rudy Paige was the other Blue Bulls player released from the Bok squad but the scrumhalf could not crack a nod in Saturday's match-day squad.

Pollard comes into the match-day squad in place of Manie Libbok, who was withdrawn on Thursday morning due to an issue with his appendix.

Mitchell earlier this week said he would not pick his returning Springboks because the cohesion and growth of his Bulls team "takes preference at this stage".

Meanwhile, the Kiwi coach made two changes to his starting XV, with Johnny Kotze starting on the wing and Conraad van Vuuren at tighthead prop.

The inclusion of Kotze is a first start in light blue for the former Western Province player after coming off the bench twice earlier in the competition, while Van Vuuren - who last started against the Pumas in Nelspruit in August - is the other change in the run-on team from last weekend.

Mitchell also opted for Ulrich Beyers on the bench, with the utility back due for a first appearance in this year’s competition.

Saturday’s clash at Kings Park is scheduled for 15:00.



15 Garth April, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Sbu Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Thomas du Toit

Substitutes: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Jean Droste, 19 Tera Mtembu, 20 Cameron Wright, 21 Tristan Blewett, 22 Rhyno Smith

Blue Bulls

15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Duncan Matthews, 13 Burger Odendaal (captain), 12 JT Jackson, 11 Johnny Kotze, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Jano Venter, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Nic de Jager, 5 Aston Fortuin, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Pierre Schoeman

Substitutes: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Matthys Basson, 18 Tim Agaba, 19 Marco van Staden, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Handre Pollard, 22 Ulrich Beyers


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.