Currie Cup

Leyds to captain, Notshe starts for WP

2018-08-23 14:51
Dillyn Leyds (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Dillyn Leyds will lead Western Province as they get their Currie Cup title defence underway against Free State Cheetahs at Newlands on Saturday.

The versatile Leyds will be on the left wing - the same position he played in the final in Durban last year - for the clash with the Bloemfontein side.

SP Marais is at fullback, with JJ Engelbrecht on the right wing and Sergeal Petersen set to make his Western Province debut should he come off the replacements bench.

In the midfield, Blitzboks' Ruhan Nel links up with Dan Kriel, with Dan du Plessis among the replacements.

Josh Stander will partner the experienced Jano Vermaak at halfback, with Herschel Jantjies providing scrumhalf cover.

Sikhumbuzo Notshe has returned from the Springbok camp to take his place in the loose trio alongside Kobus van Dyk and Juarno Augustus.

In the second row Salmaan Moerat will partner JD Schickerling, with Ernst van Rhyn set to provide an impact in the second half.

Up front props Ali Vermaak and Michael Kumbirai start on either side of hooker Scarra Ntubeni, with Caylib Oosthuizen, Neethling Fouche and Chad Solomon on the replacements bench.

Western Province head coach John Dobson said that his side is determined to start their campaign on a positive note at Newlands.

"We have had a good pre-season in preparation for this campaign so everyone is very keen to go out there and implement what we have planned," he said.

"It is great to start the season at Newlands and the players are keen to make an impression in front of our loyal supporters."

Kick-off is at 17:15.


Western Province

15 SP Marais, 14 JJ Engelbrecht, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Dillyn Leyds (captain), 10 Josh Stander, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Ali Vermaak

Substitutes: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Ernst van Rhyn, 20 Herschel Jantjies, 21 Dan du Plessis, 22 Sergeal Petersen

Free State Cheetahs

15 Malcom Jaer, 14 Rabz Maxwane, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Nico Lee, 11 William Small-Smith, 10 Louis Fouche, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Aidon Davis, 7 Oupa Mohoje (captain), 6 Jasper Wiese, 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Gunther Janse van Vuuren, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche 

Substitutes: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Erich de Jager, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 Stephan Malan, 20 Junior Pokomela, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Ernst Stapelberg


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.