Currie Cup

Last-gasp Petersen try sinks Lions

2017-08-26 19:05
Paul Schoeman (Gallo)

Cape Town - A try from Sergeal Petersen after the hooter gave the Free State Cheetahs a dramatic 30-24 win over the Golden Lions in Bloemfontein on Saturday. 

It looked like the Lions were heading for just their second win of the Currie Cup season, but a great run and step from Petersen kept the visitors bottom of the table as they continue their fresh start under Swys de Bruin,

The Cheetahs, meanwhile, returned to the top of the log. 

The sides had gone into the break with the Cheetahs 13-7 ahead after Andries Ferreira for the Lions and then Gerhard Olivier for the hosts had scored tries. 

The visitors then took a big step towards a much-needed victory with two quick-fire tries from Hacjivah Dayimani and then Fabian Booysen that put them ahead. 

Cheetahs flyhalf Robbie Petzer kept his side in the game with his third penalty of the night before Rosko Specman's try gave them a 23-21 lead heading into the final few minutes. 

Then, with just four minutes left on the clock, the Lions were awarded a kickable penalty that fullback Jaco van der Walt made no mistake with.

24-23 up, the Lions were looking to just hold on, but the Cheetahs launched an attack after the hooter to get the win. 


Free State Cheetahs 30 (13)

Tries: Gerhard Olivier, Rosko Specman, Sergeal Petersen

Conversions: Robbie Petzer (2)

Penalties: Petzer (3)

Golden Lions 24 (7)

Tries: Andries Ferreira, Hacjivah Dayimani, Fabian Booysen

Conversions: Jaco van der Walt (3)


Free State Cheetahs

15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Rosko Specman, 13 William Small Smith, 12 Ali Mgijima, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Robbie Petzer, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Niell Jordaan (captain), 7 Gerhard Olivier, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 Charles Marais

Substitutes: 16 Retshegofaditswe Nche, 17 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 18 Rynier Bernardo, 19 Jasper Wiese, 20 Zee Mkhabela, 21 Rayno Benjamin, 22 Cecil Afrika

Golden Lions

15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Harold Vorster, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Ashlon Davids, 9 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 8 Fabian Booysen, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 James Venter, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Jacques van Rooyen, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Pieter Jansen, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 Rhyno Herbst, 19 Hacjivah Dayimani, 20 Bradley Thain, 21 Stokkies Hanekom, 22 Aphiwe Dyantyi


WRAP: Super Rugby - Week 5

2018-03-18 09:30

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.