Currie Cup

Du Preez: Sharks must keep improving

2016-09-01 19:06
Robert du Preez (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - As they prepare to face Western Province at Newlands, Sharks coach Robert du Preez says they need to build on their solid start in this year’s Currie Cup Premier Division.

The Durbanites currently top the standings after four wins from as many matches.

There were wins over the Pumas (33-10, Nelspruit), Griquas (46-24, Durban), Boland (41-20, Wellington) and Blue Bulls (26-19, Durban).

But this weekend they face a tough challenge against a desperate Western Province outfit, who have already lost two matches.

“The attitude and character shown by our players to get the win against the Blue Bulls will definitely give them an added boost ahead of this weekend’s match,” Du Preez said after naming his team on Thursday.
“Four wins from four matches is a healthy position to be in at this stage of the competition, but we know that we need to keep improving each week to retain our position at the top of the table.
“We are up against another quality team this weekend that are always a difficult prospect at home. We need to stick to our structures and concentrate on our execution.”

Du Preez made just one change to the team that defeated the Blue Bulls. It comes amongst the backs where Lwazi Mvovo is replaced by S’bura Sithole on the wing after the former was recalled to the Springbok touring squad.

Saturday’s clash is scheduled for 17:10.


Western Province

15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Werner Kok, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Stefan Willemse, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 JD Schickerling, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

Substitutes: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 JP Smith, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Jurie van Vuuren, 21 Dewaldt Duvenage, 22 EW Viljoen


15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 S'bura Sithole, 10 Inny Radebe, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Juan Schoeman
Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 John-Hubert Meyer, 18 Jean Droste, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Heimar Williams, 22 Rhyno Smith

Read more on:    sharks  |  wp  |  currie cup  |  robert du preez  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.