Currie Cup

Daniel leads Sharks in Currie Cup

2016-08-01 14:27
Keegan Daniel (Gallo Images)

Durban - Keegan Daniel has been appointed Sharks captain for the upcoming Currie Cup Premier Division.

Head coach Robert du Preez made the announcement on Monday after naming his squad for the competition.

Daniel is a stalwart of Sharks rugby and his leadership record is admirable. He has previously captained the Sharks on 58 occasions, which included both Super Rugby and Currie Cup finals, as well as lifting the coveted Currie Cup trophy in 2013.

He initially returned for this year’s Super Rugby campaign, but has committed his immediate future to the team, by signing a new three-year contract.

Commenting on his decision, Du Preez said:  “Keegan is someone who leads by example and sets the pace not on the playing field, but at training and also off the field. We have a young and enthusiastic squad and his experience and strong leadership will certainly provide the necessary mentorship, guidance and calming influence within our team environment.”

The Sharks are scheduled to open their Currie Cup campaign against the Pumas in nelspruit on Firday.

The 2016 Sharks Currie Cup squad:

Forwards: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Dale Chadwick, Daniel du Preez, Etienne Oosthuizen, Franco Marais, Francois Kleinhans, Hyron Andrews, JC Astle, Jean Deysel, Jean Droste, Jean-Luc du Preez, Johan du Toit, John-Hubert Meyer, Juan Schoeman, Keegan Daniel (captain), Khaya Majola, Lourens Adriaanse, Philip van der Walt, Ruan Botha, Stephan Coetzee, Stephan Lewies, Tera Mtembu, Thomas du Toit     

Backs: Andre Esterhuizen, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Curwin Bosch, Garth April, Hanco Venter, Heimar Williams, Lukhanyo Am, Marius Louw, Michael Claassens, Morne Joubert, Neil Maritz, Odwa Ndungane, S’bura Sithole, Sibusiso Nkosi, Khaya Majola, Stefan Ungerer, Lourens Adriaanse, Wandile Mjekevu


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Friday, 12 July 2019
Sharks v Griquas, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:15
Saturday, 13 July 2019
Lions v Pumas, Emirates Airline Park 15:00
Western Province v Blue Bulls, Cape Town 17:15
Friday, 19 July 2019
Griquas v Pumas, Tafel Lager Park 17:00
Blue Bulls v Free State, Loftus Versfeld 19:15
Saturday, 20 July 2019
Sharks v Western Province, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 14:00
Friday, 26 July 2019
Pumas v Blue Bulls, Mbombela Stadium 19:15
Saturday, 27 July 2019
Free State v Griquas, Toyota Stadium 15:00
Western Province v Lions, Cape Town 17:15
Team P W PTS

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.