Currie Cup

Young lock to debut for Sharks

2013-09-25 14:00
Stephan Lewies (Gallo Images)
Durban - Following their 50-26 mauling of Free State last week, the Sharks have been forced to make two changes to their side ahead of their Currie Cup clash against the Golden Lions in Johannesburg on Friday, reports Sharks website editor Michael Marnewick.

With Marcell Coetzee and Pieter-Steph du Toit called up to the Springboks, Justin Downey and Stephan Lewies have been named as the only changes to last week’s side, with the latter making his debut.

“Stephan Lewies from the Under-21s has been doing very well and coming into the match 22 at lock is great for him,” explains Sharks forwards coach Brad Macleod-Henderson.

"He’s a nice tall young man who has played well for the Under-21s both this year and last, and he has been one of the stars in 2013, so it’s fantastic for him to get the opportunity and show what he can do. He’s more an out and out number five lock, he’s quite athletic, has a nice frame on him so it will be great to see how he goes.

“The Lions done well this year and had a good run in the Currie Cup, they have a tough pack of forwards, some exciting backs and we’re playing at Ellis Park so it’s going to be a big challenge on Friday night.

“The same as every week.”

Kick-off at Ellis Park is at 19:10 on Friday.


Golden Lions:

15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Andries Coetzee, 13 Deon Helberg, 12 Dylan Des Fountain, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Derick Minnie (captain), 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Chris van Zyl, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 CJ van der Linde.

Substitutes: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Willie Britz, 19 Warwick Tecklenberg, 20 Guy Cronjé, 21 Grant Janke, 22 Ruhan Nel


15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Tim Whitehead, 12. Heimar Williams, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Fred Zeilinga, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Keegan Daniel (captain), 7. Tera Mtembu, 6. Justin Downey, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Peet Marais, 3. Wiehahn Herbst, 2. Kyle Cooper, 1. Dale Chadwick

Substitutes: 16. Monde Hadebe, 17. Danie Mienie, 18. Edwin Hewitt, 19. Brynard Stander, 20. Cobus Reinach, 21. Butch James, 22. Jaco van Tonder

Read more on:    sharks  |  currie cup  |  durban  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.