Currie Cup

Willie Roos back to haunt WP?

2013-09-26 13:00
Willie Roos (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Willie Roos will be back in the TMO hot seat when the Free State Cheetahs tackle Western Province in their Absa Currie Cup match in Bloemfontein on Friday.

Roos infuriated WP when he awarded a controversial penalty try to the Golden Lions when the teams clashed at Ellis Park last month.

The Lions, trailing 25-10, were awarded a penalty try by Roos in the 48th minute of the match, as fullback Marnitz Boshoff reached for the tryline and WP centre Damian de Allende dived in at the ball.

Whether or not Boshoff managed to touch the ball on the line, as he rolled over, was inconclusive on television replays, but Roos shocked both coaching teams by awarding a penalty try for De Allende "diving in on the side and on the player".

To make matters worse for WP, De Allende was yellow-carded and the Lions managed to fight back to draw the match 31-all.

SA referees boss André Watson defended Roos afterwards, but fans and pundits were not convinced.

Roos will again be the television match official (TMO) for Friday's game at the Free State Stadium, which is sure to make Capetonians sleep uneasy.

Roos is no stranger to controversy as an official.

He retired from refereeing in 2009 after he was abused and had a drink flung in his face in Kimberley following a Currie Cup match, but has since re-emerged in the television hot seat.

WP coach Allister Coetzee had a chuckle when he was asked how he felt about Roos's appointment.

"Let me tell you I am very satisfied with... Um... the officials for the game," Coetzee told Die Burger's website.

Marius Jonker will be the referee for the clash which kicks off at 17:05.


Free State Cheetahs:

15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Riaan Smit, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Piet Lindeque, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Lappies Labuschagné, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Freddie Ngoza, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Hercu Liebenberg, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.

Substitutes: 16 AJ le Roux, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Francois Uys, 19 Davon Raubenheimer, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Rayno Benjamin, 22 Willie du Plessis

Western Province:

15. Gio Aplon, 14. Gerhard van den Heever, 13. Michael van der Spuy, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Cheslin Kolbe, 10. Kurt Coleman, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Deon Fourie (captain), 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Tazz Fuzani, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16. Michael Willemse, 17. Brok Harris, 18. Gerbrandt Grobler, 19. Schalk Burger, 20. Josh Katzen, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Demetri Catrakilis

Read more on:    wp  |  currie cup  |  allister coetzee  |  cape town  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.