Currie Cup

WP's Kolisi 'out of position'

2014-08-07 07:43
Siya Kolisi (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - If Western Province flank Siya Kolisi wants to play himself back into the Springbok squad he'll have to do it slightly "out of position".

Kolisi was a notable omission from Bok coach Heyneke Meyer's Rugby Championship squad named last weekend.

He was one of three contracted Springboks who failed to make the cut, the others being Coenie Oosthuizen and JJ Engelbrecht.

And while Meyer said he would like to see Kolisi play blindside flank in future, the player was picked at openside for WP's opening Currie Cup game against the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

WP coach Allister Coetzee said he doesn't expect Kolisi to totally change his playing style.

"It's definitely not his strong point (to play as a fetcher). I'm also not going to try and change him as a player," Coetzee told Die Burger.

"He'll still play an important role as ball carrier for us. However, as openside flank he needs to be the first one at the breakdown point to clean out. He also knows that if he can't steal the ball (on defence), he must at least be able to disrupt the opposition's ball. There are two ways to turn over possession (at the breakdown) and Siya is more capable of disrupting than stealing."

WP and EP open this year's Currie Cup competition when they meet at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Friday night (19:10 kick-off).


EP Kings:

15 Scott van Breda, 14 Ronnie Cooke, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Tobie Botes, 8 Luke Watson (captain), 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Thembelani Bholi, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Steven Cummins, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka/BG Uys

Substitutes: 16 Albe de Swardt, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Darron Nell, 19 Aidon Davis, 20 Kevin Luiters, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa

Western Province:

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh (captain), 12. Michael van der Spuy, 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Manuel Carizza, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Alistair Vermaak

Substitutes: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Frans Malherbe, 18. Jean Kleyn, 19. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Robert du Preez, 22. Pat Howard

Read more on:    wp  |  currie cup  |  siya kolisi  |  cape town  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.