Currie Cup

WP too strong for Pumas

2014-09-26 21:04
Nizaam Carr (Gallo Images)

Nelspruit - Western Province survived a second-half onslaught from the Pumas to win their Currie Cup match 37-23 at Mbombela Stadium on Friday.

The log-leaders led by 14 points at half-time (20-6), and shortly after the interval increased their lead to 21, before a spirited comeback by the hosts cut the gap to seven points. The title-chasing WP held their nerve in the dying minutes and scored their fourth try of the match to seal the contest and a bonus point win.

With the win, WP moved to 34 points with two matches remaining for the Cape side before the playoffs.

The match started off with flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis slotting a penalty to take a 3-0 lead for WP in the second minute.

The opening try followed in the 10th minute when Nizaam Carr crossed the whitewash for the visitors, and Catrakilis added the conversion to take a 10-0 lead.

The first points for the hosts came through the boot of No 10 JC Roos as he nailed a penalty to close the gap to 10-3.

Just after the half-hour mark, Catrakilis added another penalty to send the score out to 13-3.

The Pumas responded with a penalty of their own in the 36th minute as Roos was successful from the halfway line to make it 13-6.

A minute before the break, Sikhumbuzo Notshe scored in the corner for WP after some good build-up play from the Cape outfit. Catrakils again converted and WP led 20-6 going into the break.

In the 46th minute, Michael van der Spuy scored next to the posts for WP's third try of the evening, and Catrakilis added the extra two points to take a 27-6 lead.

As the lead rose to 21 points, the home side finally clicked into gear in the 50th minute.

Stefan Watermeyer scored two tries in the space of three minutes, and replacement flyhalf Justin van Staden was successful with both conversions as the gap was narrowed to seven points at 27-20.

Van Staden added a penalty in the 54th minute to close the gap to four points at 27-23.

Catrakils again extended the lead for WP in the 58th minute with a penalty to take the score to 30-23.

Two minutes before the end, Carr barged over for his second try of the evening to seal the result, and Catrakils added the conversion for a hard-earned 37-23 win.



Tries: Stefan Watermeyer and Reynier Van Rooyen
Conversions: Justin Van Staden (2)
Penalties: JC Roos (2), Van Staden


Tries: Nizaam Carr (2), Sikhumbuzo Notshe and Michael van der Spuy
Conversions: Demetri Catrakilis (4)
Penalties: Catrakilis (3)



15 JW Bell, 14 Ruwellyn Isbell, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 JC Roos, 9 Reynier van Rooyen, 8 Renaldo Bothma/RW Kember, 7 Jaco Bouwer, 6 Corne Steenkamp (captain), 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Marius Coetzer, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Frankie Herne, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 DeJay Terblanche, 18 Uzair Cassiem, 19 RW Kember/Doppies le Roux, 20 Dylon Frylinck, 21 Justin van Staden, 22 Jerome Pretorius

Western Province:

15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (captain), 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Justin Geduld, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak

Substitutes: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Manuel Carizza, 19 Rohan Kitshoff, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Michael van der Spuy

Read more on:    pumas  |  wp  |  currie cup  |  cape town  |  nelspruit  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.