Currie Cup

WP see off spirited Blue Bulls

2014-10-18 19:36
Western Province (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Western Province have again proved the masters of opportunism when they snatched three first-half tries which provided the sheet anchor for their eventual 31-23 win against the Blue Bulls in the Currie Cup semi-final at Newlands on Saturday evening.

The fleet-footed Province fullback Cheslin Kolbe scored two of the three tries and proved the death knell for the visiting Bulls in the end. Province will now host the Golden Lions in next week's final, also at Newlands.

Despite their best efforts, the Bulls did not appear as though they would haul in Province's 15-point half-time lead (25-10) especially as their best attacking efforts were thwarted by the home side's resolute defence.

A second-minute scrum penalty against the Bulls allowed Province to draw first blood when their sharp-shooter flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis goaled from 35 metres out (3-0).

After seeing off a number of Bulls attacks, the ball spun free at a breakdown collision some 15 metres inside Province territory. The ball was recycled to Seabelo Senatla, the Province leftwing, and he sprinted 40 metres down the touchline before he was stopped by the cover defence. However, the Bulls' defence were at loss to prevent a score by fullback Cheslin Kolbe once the ball was faultlessly relayed across the face of the red zone.

Catrakilis' conversion attempt failed but Province held an 8-0 lead after 11 minutes play.

Bulls pivot Jacques-Louis Potgieter reduced the deficit five minutes later with a penalty, but Catrakilis soon restored the 8-point lead with his second penalty (11-3).

At this stage of the match Province eighthman Nizaam Carr suffered a hip injury and he was forced to leave the field. He was replaced by Sikhumbuzo Notshe.

The Bulls try did to mix their attacks with tactical kicks but it Province who fared better in this regard when a grubber kick was collected by their right wing Kobus van Wyk, who fed Kolbe with a timely scoring pass.

Catrakilis added the conversion (18-3).

Province were making the most of limited possession at this stage of the game, and a 37th minute raid into the opposition's 22 metre area paid dividends.

The Bulls were blown up for illegal scrumming and Province number nine Nic Groom took a quick tap quick before darting in to score a converted try (25-3).

Bulls prop Dean Greyling steamrolled his way over for a try almost two minutes after the half-time hooter had sounded. Potgieter, who had earlier missed three goalable kicks, nailed the touchline conversion to round off the first-half score at 25-10, in favour of Province.

After the break, Potgieter banged over two close-range efforts and Catrakilis responded with another in the 49th minute and Provinces lead was narrowed to 28-16.

Catrakilis offered a measure of safety with a drop goal six minutes from the end.

But in the final minute, Bulls reserve prop Callie Visage bulldozed his way over, Handre Pollard added the conversion for a 31-23 scoreline.


Western Province 31 (18): Tries: Cheslin Kolbe (2), Nic Groom; Conversions: Demetri Catrakilis (2); Penalties: Demetri Catrakilis (3); Drop goal: Catrakilis.

Blue Bulls 23 (3): Tries: Dean Greyling, Callie Visaie; Conversions: Jacques-Louis Potgieter; Handre' Pollard; Penalties: Jacques-Louis Potgieter (3)

Western Province

15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (captain), 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak

Substitutes: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 EW Viljoen

Blue Bulls
15. Ulrich Beyers, 14. Akona Ndungane, 13. William Small-Smith, 12. Handrè Pollard, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9. Rudy Paige, 8. Jono Ross, 7. Jacques du Plessis, 6. Deon Stegmann (captain), 5. Grant Hattingh, 4. Paul Willemse, 3. Werner Kruger, 2. Bongo Mbonambi
1. Dean Greyling

Substitutes: 16. Callie Visagie, 17. Marcel van der Merwe, 18. Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 19. Wiaan Liebenberg, 20. Piet van Zyl, 21. Sampie Mastriet, 22. Jesse Kriel


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.