Currie Cup

WP edge EP Kings in friendly

2015-07-25 21:04
Juan de Jongh (Gallo)

Port Elizabeth - Western Province edged the EP Kings 21-18 in their  friendly clash at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday night.

In an exciting finish, the Kings, who trailed 14-13 at half-time, stormed on to the attack in the closing minutes but the WP defence held firm for the victory as the sides completed their match preparations for the Currie Cup starting on August 8.

After a try by WP centre and captain Juan de Jongh gave the visitors a 21-13 lead in the 55th minute, the Kings gave themselves a chance at victory when left wing Luther Obi shot through a gap to narrow the margin to three points with six minutes remaining.

In the first half the Kings took a 7-0 lead after a try by prop Maks van Dyk, converted by fullback Scott van Breda, who also added two penalties.

WP hit back with tries by wings Kobus van Wyk and Seabelo Senatla, both converted by flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis.


EP Kings:

Tries: Maks van Dyk, Luther Obi

Conversion: Scott van Breda

Penalties: Van Breda (2)


Tries: Kobus van Wyk, Seabelo Senatla, Juan de Jongh

Conversions: Demetri Catrakilis (2), Kurt Coleman.


EP Kings:

15 Scott van Breda, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Marlou van Niekerk, 11 Luther Obi, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Enrico Acker, 8 Tim Agaba, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Steven Sykes (captain), 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Lizo Gqoboka

Substitutes: 16 Albe de Swardt, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Simon Kerrod, 19 Tazz Fuzani, 20 Jacques Engelbrecht, 21 Luke Watson, 22 Cameron Lindsay, 23 Kevin Luiters, 24 Karlo Aspeling, 25 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 26 Ronnie Cooke, 27 Tim Whitehead


15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (captain), 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr (vice-captain), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Entienne Swanepoel, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ali Vermaak.

Substitutes (from):16 Chad Solomon, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Justin Benn, 21 Rayn Smid, 22 Jano Vermaak, 23 Kurt Coleman, 24 Jaco Taute, 25 Huw Jones, 26 Godlen Masimla, 27 EW Viljoen, 28 Jan de Klerk

Read more on:    wp  |  ep kings  |  currie cup  |  port elizabeth  |  cape town  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.