Currie Cup

Vermaak starts for WP

2015-09-24 15:33
Jano Vermaak (Gallo Images)

Cape Town -  Western Province coach John Dobson has made six changes to his starting team for Saturday's Currie Cup clash against the Pumas at Newlands (15:00 kick-off).

As expected, Dillyn Leyds will start at fullback - in place of the injured Cheslin Kolbe - with Kobus van Wyk moving up from the bench to start in the No 14 jersey.

In the final change to the WP backline this, Springbok scrumhalf Jano Vermaak will make his first start in Blue & White Hoops, having come off the bench last week to score a valuable try for his new team.

Up front, meanwhile, loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff has not recovered from his chest niggle, handing Oli Kebble a start in the No 1 jersey.

In the second row, Jan de Klerk will make a first start at this level, with Jean Kleyn getting a rest on the bench, and skipper Nizaam Carr returns to assume the team captaincy and the No.8 jersey.

Sikhumbuzo Notshe, who started at No 8 last week, will pack down on the side of the scrum - at No 7 - with Jurie van Vuuren, a last-minute starter last weekend, reverting to the bench. The hard-hitting Rynhardt Elstadt is still unavailable with a thigh injury.

The new faces on the bench this week are fit-again hooker Michael Willemse (in for the injured Scarra Ntubeni), prop Ali Vermaak and utility back Jaco Taute.

Dobson told the website: "Jan de Klerk deserves a start in the No 4 jersey and we have a plan with Jean Kleyn in the second half.

"Unfortunately, Steven Kitshoff will join Scarra Ntubeni, Rynhardt Elstadt and Cheslin Kolbe on the sidelines this week, but it gives Oli Kebble a big opportunity on the loosehead side and Ali Vermaak is deservedly back in the mix too.

"This match is hugely important for us in terms of our home semi-final hopes, so it's good to have our captain Nizaam Carr back and we're keen to see how Jano Vermaak goes in his first start."

The match will not be televised.


Western Province

15. Dillyn Leyds, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Johnny Kotze, 12. Huw Jones, 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Jano Vermaak8. Nizaam Carr (captain), 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6. Chris Cloete, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jan de Klerk, 3. Wilco Louw, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Oli Kebble

Substitutes:16. Michael Willemse, 17. Ali Vermaak, 18. Jean Kleyn, 19. Jurie van Vuuren, 20. Nic Groom, 21. Demetri Catrakilis, 22. Jaco Taute


15 Hoffmann Maritz, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Wilmaure Louw, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Faf de Klerk (captain), 8 Jason-Colin Fraser, 7 Jaco Bouwer, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Khwezi Mona, 18 Rudi Mathee, 19 Uzair Cassiem, 20 Johan Herbst, 21 Hennie Skorbinski, 22 Deon Helberg


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.