Currie Cup

Vermaak blow for WP

2015-08-26 08:28
Jano Vermaak (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Western Province are worried about an injury to new scrumhalf recruit Jano Vermaak.

Vermaak injured his finger in last week’s loss to the Blue Bulls in Pretoria and could not be considered for this week’s clash against the Free State Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.

With Nic Groom released to represent the Barbarians in London this weekend, Vermaak was in line to start against the Cheetahs, but his injury provides a chance for youngster Godlen Masimla to start in the No 9 jersey.

Louis Schreuder will be the reserve scrumhalf.

According to WP coach John Dobson, Vermaak’s finger is not broken, but they are worried.

“We didn’t think there would be a problem, but he currently can’t even pick up a phone,” Dobson said at the team announcement on Tuesday.

Dobson though is confident that Masimla will be able to step up to the plate.

“We’re particularly excited about Godlen Masimla’s first start at this level. Dawie Snyman (assistant coach) and I first spotted him as a raw 20-year-old in 2012 and he has come through the ranks from UWC, our Under-21s and our Vodacom Cup set-up. This is a great opportunity for him to show what he can do,” said Dobson.

WP beat the Cheetahs 9-3 at a wet Newlands two weeks ago and Dobson is wary of a backlash in Bloemfontein on Friday.

“The Cheetahs will be eyeing up this match as a one to win - they’re at home against a team that lost heavily a few days ago and they ran us close in Cape Town two weeks ago,” said the WP mentor.

“At the same time, we know we need to win and win well, but we need to remain controlled and focused on the plan at hand in order to prevent a repeat of last week.”

Friday’s clash at the Free State Stadium kicks off at 19:10.


Free State Cheetahs:


Western Province:

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Johnny Kotze, 12. Jaco Taute, 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Godlen Masimla, 8. Nizaam Carr (captain), 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6. Rynhardt Elstadt, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Wilco Louw, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Alistair Vermaak

Substitutes: 16. Scarra Ntubeni, 17. JP Smith, 18. Jan de Klerk, 19. Chris Cloete, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Dillyn Leyds


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.