Currie Cup

Steenkamp relishing lead role

2013-09-12 22:54
De Kock Steenkamp (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Stand-in captain, De Kock Steenkamp says that he is ready to lead Western Province out onto the Loftus Versveld pitch when they take on the Blue Bulls in their Currie Cup clash on Saturday.

He will skipper the blue and white hoops in the absence of regular captain, Deon Fourie, who will miss the clash after sustaining a rib injury.

Steenkamp believes that his experience when it comes to the line-out will help him in leading the team from the front, in what promises to be a physical battle against their traditional rivals from the north.

"When you play at No. 5 (lock), then you have to be able to take responsibility in the line-outs," Steenkamp told WP's official website.

Steenkamp will hope that the pair of Springboks in the form of Gio Aplon and Juan de Jongh will be on hand to provide valuable experience to the team and give him much needed senior support.

"I enjoy the responsibility (of the captaincy) and there are (a few) leaders (within the team) who will support me as the captain."

He is also under no illusions regarding what he thinks the Bulls' strength is and on which area of the game they will be focussed on.

"There is a huge focus on the line-out against the Bulls - both on your own throw-in and when competing with each other's ball.

"We have spent a lot of time on this (the line-out) in the last few weeks and we'll dedicate some more time to it at the Captain's run (on Friday)," concluded Steenkamp.

Kick-off is at 17:05.


Blue Bulls:

15 Jürgen Visser, 14 Sampie Mastriet, 13 Ulrich Beyers, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Akona Ndungane, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Jono Ross (captain), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Wiaan Liebenberg, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Frik Kirsten, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Marcel van der Merwe.

Substitutes: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 David Bullbring, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 21 Lohan Jacobs, 22 Waylon Murray, 23 Clayton Blommetjies

Western Province:

15. Gio Aplon, 14. Gerhard van den Heever, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Cheslin Kolbe, 10. Kurt Coleman, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Rynhardt Elstadt 5. De Kock Steenkamp (captain), 4. Taz Fuzani, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16. Michael Willemse, 17. Brok Harris, 18. Gerbrandt Grobler, 19. Rohan Kitshoff, 20. Nic Groom, 21. Gary van Aswegen, 22. Michael van der Spuy

Read more on:    blue bulls  |  wp  |  currie cup  |  de kock steenkamp  |  cape town  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.