Currie Cup

Sharks secure home semi-final

2013-10-04 20:59
Jean Deysel (Gallo Imges)

Pretoria - A Butch James penalty conversion at the death earned his side a Currie Cup home semi-final in their 18-16 victory over the Blue Bulls at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Friday.

While the result was a knock to the Bulls' chances of reaching the playoffs, the Pretoria side clinched a bonus point out of the match for losing by less than seven points.

The Bulls moved past the Cheetahs on the log level on 17 points and next week's encounter between these sides in Bloemfontein could decide which of the teams progress to the semi-finals.

With the Bulls playing for their survival in this year's Currie Cup, they needed to produce a clinical performance against the log-leading Sharks.

Despite conceding two yellow cards for ill-discipline, the visitors still managed to sneak through a victory in a match where a stalemate would have been a fair outcome.

The hosts had a shaky first 20 minutes of the match as they struggled particularly in the set-pieces, while the Sharks looked more composed.

The Sharks' bright young flyhalf Fred Zeilinga had two opportunities to give his side an early advantage but missed both penalty attempts.

Zeilinga finally found his target on the 10 minute mark to open the scoring, but his Bulls counterpart Handre Pollard replied with a penalty goal two minutes later to level the scores again.

The Sharks pivot further opened the gap with a penalty conversion a minute later, before adding another in the 33rd minute.

While neither of the sides showed real intent to cross the whitewash, the Bulls slowly but surely made inroads in the set phases.

Where they were clearly outmuscled during scrum time and struggling in the lineouts in the first 20 minutes, they showed greater resistance as the game progressed.

Six minutes before the half-time break the Sharks conceded their first yellow card when referee Marius van der Westhuizen sent flanker Jacques Botes to the sin-bin.

At the restart after the half-time break, the Sharks came out firing as they launched the first real attack on the advantage line as their strong ball carriers bashed their way towards the tryline.

For all their efforts, they only had three points to show for it, with Zeilinga adding another penalty conversion to extend their lead to six points.

The Bulls had an opportunity to close the gap again a minute later, but Pollard's long-range kick fell well short of the goals.

The Light Blues were given another helping hand by Van der Westhuizen in the 60th minute when the referee sent Sharks strongman Jean Deysel packing for infringements at the breakdown.

A minute later the Bulls took full advantage of being a player up with centre Francois Venter managing to get over the chalk after a strong scrum from the Bulls meters from the goalline, with Pollard converting.

Pollard added a penalty five minutes later to extend the home side's lead to four points with 14 minutes left on the clock.

The Sharks, however, held their composure and replacement flyhalf Butch James got his side within a point of the hosts with a penalty goal in the 70th minute before he had the final say in the 79th minute with another successful kick.


Blue Bulls - 16 (6): Try: Francois Venter; Conversion: Handré Pollard; Penalties: Pollard (3)

Sharks - 18 (9): Penalties: Fred Zeilinga (4), Butch James (2).


Blue Bulls:

15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Jono Ross (captain), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Wiaan Liebenberg, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Frik Kirsten, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Marcel van der Merwe.

Substitutes: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 Lohan Jacobs, 21 Ulrich Beyers, 22 Sampie Mastriet


15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Tim Whitehead, 12. Heimar Williams, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Fred Zeilinga, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Keegan Daniel (captain), 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Stephen Lewies, 4. Peet Marais, 3. Wiehahn Herbst, 2. Kyle Cooper 1. Dale Chadwick

Substitutes: 16. Monde Hadebe, 17. Danie Mienie, 18. Edwin Hewitt, 19. Marcell Coetzee, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Butch James, 22. Louis Ludik


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.