Currie Cup

Sharks put faith in Hoffmann

2014-08-27 19:39
Conrad Hoffmann and Thomas du Toit (Gallo Images)

Durban - Conrad Hoffmann will make his full debut for the Sharks when they face the Pumas in a Currie Cup encounter in Nelspruit on Friday.

The former Western Province scrumhalf, injured for the start of the campaign, takes over from rookie Cameron Wright in the number nine jersey having moved to Durban from the Brumbies last month.

He made his first appearance for the Sharks last weekend, when he impressed off the bench in a 19-16 win over the Free State Cheetahs at Kings Park.

The other change is at lock, where JC Astle replaces veteran Marco Wentzel, who is unavailable.

"Marco is away for a couple of weeks, but thankfully JC is available again (after his injury)," assistant coach Paul Anthony said.

"He's done well for us and I've been very impressed with him.

"He's an intelligent player and will take over the calling of the line-outs."

Among the replacements, Thomas du Toit makes way for Johan Meyer.

The defending champions beat the Pumas 34-17 on home soil earlier in the season and forwards coach Anthony is expecting an equally tight affair.

"We only played them two weeks back, so neither side is really going to change all that much in that time," he said.

"We know what we're going to get from them, but we have to counter that.

"What they do bring is a huge physicality to the game.

"They're a well-drilled side who are hard on defence, aggressive off the line, and so we have to match that.

"We can't afford to spill ball because they are very quick on the counter and have some real pace in the backline.

"So we have to cut out the errors and ensure we are in their faces and match them up front."


15 JW Bell, 14 Jerome Pretorius, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Rosko Speckman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Dylon Frylick, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Corné Steenkamp (captain), 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Frikkie Spies, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 Corné Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Frankie Herne, 17 DeJay Terblanché, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Jaco Bouwer, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 JC Roos, 22 Coenie van Wyk

15 SP Marais, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 S’bura Sithole, 12 Paul Jordaan, 11 Tonderai Chavhanga, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Conrad Hoffmann, 8 Tera Mtembu (captain), 7 Francois Kleinhans, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 JC Astle, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Matt Stevens, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Dale Chadwick

Substitutes: 16 Franco Marais,17 Lourens Adriaanse, 18 Stephan Lewies, 19 Johan Meyer, 20 Cameron Wright, 21 Heimar Williams, 22 Lionel Cronje

Read more on:    pumas  |  sharks  |  currie cup  |  durban  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.