Currie Cup

Sharks in on Kings raid

2013-08-05 17:00
SP Marais (Gallo Images)
Durban - The Sharks have joined in the raid on the Kings' player resources, signing SP Marais, who's contract with the newly-relegated Super Rugby franchise is subject to a release clause.

The Sharks made the announcement on their official website where they have finalised their 43-man Currie Cup squad to do battle in this year’s tournament.

Six of the players have been included in the Springbok squad for the Rugby Championship (Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Bismarck and Jannie du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira and Pat Lambie) and their presence in the Currie Cup is still to be seen, depending on their Springbok commitments and whether any are released back to their province.

Marais will arrive at he Sharks from the Kings, subject to being released from the team who were relegated from Super Rugby on Saturday evening.

"We’re hoping this happens soon as possible," explained Sharks director of rugby Brendan Venter.

"SP is coming in as a squad member, losing Riaan Viljoen and possibly Louis Ludik means his is a good addition, to The Sharks, a long term investment for SP for him to be at a top union like the Sharks."

John Smit, also addressing the media on Monday admitted that he is satisfied over the composition of the Sharks Currie Cup squad.

"The balance of this squad is important and hopefully we will see the benefits of that, of older heads sitting alongside 20 year olds," he said.

"I’m very happy, I think it’s a great looking Currie Cup squad.

"These are exciting times and we’ve put together a squad designed to win the Currie Cup and we’ve given players an opportunity they’ve never had before."

Sharks 2013 Currie Cup Squad:
Willem Alberts, Jacques Botes, Anton Bresler, Craig Burden, Dale Chadwick, Marcell Coetzee, Kyle Cooper, Keegan Daniel, Jean Deysel, Justin Downey, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Rayno Gerber, Hansie Graaf, Monde Hadebe, Wiehahn Herbst, Edwin Hewitt, Andrew James, Paul Jordaan, Marius Joubert, Francois Kleinhans, Patrick Lambie, Louis Ludik, Peet Marais, Sizo Maseko, Charl McLeod, Danie Mienie, Tendai Mtawarira, Lubabalo Mtembu, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, Cobus Reinach, Sean Robinson, S'bura Sithole, Brynard Stander, Francois Steyn, Jaco van Tonder, Marco Wentzel, Tim Whitehead, Heimar Williams, Fred Zeilinga, SP Marais.

Read more on:    sharks  |  currie cup  |  john smit  |  brendan venter  |  durban  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.