Currie Cup

Sharks turn to Kings star

2013-08-14 10:24
Heimar Williams (File)

Nelson Mandela Tribute

2013-08-14 10:07

Watch players from Bafana and the Springboks pay tribute to Madiba ahead of the Nelson Mandela Sports day.

Durban - The Sharks side to host the Lions at Kings Park in Friday’s Absa Currie Cup clash remains relatively unchanged, aside from two enforced changes that were hinted at earlier in the week.

According to Sharks website Editor, Michael Marenwick, SP Marais will gain his first start after arriving from a successful Super Rugby season with the Kings. He takes over from Sizo Maseko on the wing after the latter complained of a hamstring strain. The other change sees Heimar Williams start at inside centre after Tim Whitehead picked up a rib and ankle knock against Griquas last Friday.

Jacques Botes retains the No 8 jersey and the captaincy with Keegan Daniel not yet over his niggle.

Sharks backline coach Sean Everitt warns that the Lions will be a tough prospect after losing narrowly to the Cheetahs, although it’s no different for the Sharks who will also want to reverse that opening loss.

“The Lions will want to get onto the winning track, likewise with us as well,” explains Everitt.

“They’re a tough team to play against, they contest the breakdown really well and they defend well around the fringes of the rucks. If we’re to be on top of our game, we’ll have to improve a lot from Friday night and I think, in the Lions, we’ll be dealing with the same animal that we had in Griquas.

“The Lions are physical but they also like to move the ball around, so defensively, we’ll need to hold our width as well as contain them around the edges.”

The match kicks off at 17:05 and tickets are available from the Sharks ticket office as well as from Computicket.



15. Odwa Ndungane, 14. SP Marais, 13. Louis Ludik, 12. Heimar Williams, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Butch James, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Jacques Botes (captain), 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Brynard Stander, 5. Marco Wentzel, 4. Edwin Hewitt, 3. Wiehahn Herbst, 2. Kyle Cooper, 1. Dale Chadwick

Substitutes: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Rayno Gerber, 18. Peet Marais, 19. Tera Mtembu, 20. Cobus Reinach, 21. Fred Zeilinga, 22. Jaco van Tonder


15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Robert De Bruin, 12 Dylan Des Fountain, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Guy Cronje, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Derick Minnie (captain), 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Chris van Zyl, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Jacques Van Rooyen

Substitutes: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Lambert Groenewald, 19 Warwick Tecklenburg, 20 Tian Meyer, 21 Lionel Cronje, 22 Chrysander Botha

Read more on:    golden lions  |  sharks  |  currie cup  |  durban  |  johannesburg  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.