Currie Cup

Pumas change one for Bulls

2014-09-30 19:35
Justin van Staden (Gallo Images)

Nelspruit - Pumas' flyhalf Justin van Staden will receive a starting berth in the only change to the run-on side for their Currie Cup clash against the Blue Bulls in Nelspruit on Friday.

Van Staden will replace JC Roos, who drops out of the side altogether, with Coenie van Wyk taking up a spot on the bench.

The Pumas hold a one-point lead over the Bulls on the Currie Cup log and a defeat for either side could mean an end to their hopes of reaching the play-offs.

The Mpumalanga side recently hit a bad patch with three consecutive defeats, including a 37-23 loss to Western Province in Nelspruit over the weekend.

Pumas' mentor Jimmy Stonehouse nevertheless believes his charges have the ability to beat the Bulls who are fresh from a confidence-boosting 31-22 victory over the Free State Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.

"We've shown that we can compete against any team. Looking at last week we played catch-up rugby again, which was not necessary, and we could have won that one," Stonehouse said on Tuesday.

"We just have to be accurate from the start and not allow them to get in front of us.

"If we can manage to do that, win our lineouts and scrums and put the points on the board, we can win this one."

Pumas' assistant coach MJ Mentz said they were looking for an 80-minute performance from the players as they have been slow out of the blocks in the last few matches.

"We must hit the ground running and minimise our mistakes, which affected us in the first 10 to 20 minutes of the previous two matches, and they capitalised on it," Mentz said.

"In the latter parts of the games, we stepped up the tempo of the game and we scored the points."


15 JW Bell, 14 Ruwellyn Isbell, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Reynier van Rooyen, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Jaco Bouwer, 6 Corné Steenkamp (captain), 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Marius Coetzer, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Frankie Herne, 1 Corne Fourie

Substituteds: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 DeJay Terblanche, 18 Uzair Cassiem, 19 RW Kember, 20 Dylon Frylinck, 21 Coenie van Wyk, 22 Jerome Pretorius

Blue Bulls
15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Rudy Paige,, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Morné Mellet, 18 Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 19 Wiaan Liebenberg, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Tian Schoeman, 22 Jesse Kriel


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.