Currie Cup

Pumas change 3 for PE trip

2015-08-18 20:56
Pumas v Sharks (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The Pumas have made three changes to the side that will face the EP Kings in their Absa Currie Cup clash in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

Prop Corne Fourie will start his first match of the season scrumming down at loosehead with Khwezi Mona shifting to tighthead in place of De-Jay Terblanche.

Jason-Colin Fraser earns a starting berth at No 8 in place of Lambert Groenewald, while lock Rudi Matthee will feature in the run-on side for Giant Mtyanda, who shifts to the bench.

The Pumas will be looking to bounce back from their 44-27 defeat to the Golden Lions in Johannesburg last weekend.

In the corresponding fixture in 2013 the Pumas suffered a narrow 26-26 defeat to the Eastern Cape side.

After two rounds in this year’s Currie Cup competition the Mpumalanga side are fifth on the log with four points while the seventh-placed Kings are yet to win a match.

Kick-off is at 19:00.


EP Kings



15 JW Bell, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Stefan Watermeyer (captain), 11 Rosco Spekman, 10 JC Roos, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jason-Colin Fraser, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Rudi Matthee, 3 Khwezi Mona, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 De-Jay Terblanche, 18 Giant Mtyanda, 19 Jaco Bouwer, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 Justin van Staden, 22 Hoffmann Maritz

Read more on:    pumas  |  currie cup  |  stefan watermeyer  |  nelspruit  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.