Currie Cup

Pumas bank on Faf de Klerk

2015-08-05 17:08
Faf de Klerk (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The Pumas have welcomed nippy scrumhalf Faf de Klerk back into their starting line-up for their opening Absa Currie Cup match against the Sharks in Nelspruit on Friday.

De Klerk was released from the Springbok camp on Monday and will be running out for the Mpumalanga-based side for the first time this season since his successful Super Rugby stint with the Lions.

Meanwhile, Pumas coach MJ Mentz has named inside centre Stefan Watermeyer as captain for the encounter while lock Giant Mtyanda has also been included since his return from loan to the Sharks.

Prop Corne Fourie, who also featured for the Lions in this year’s Super Rugby campaign, should get a run from the bench.

The Sharks will be travelling to Mpumalanga fully aware of the Pumas’ status as one of their bogey sides.

The coastal side suffered a 32-22 defeat to the Pumas in the corresponding fixture in 2014, while the Pumas will be further buoyed by their status as Vodacom Cup champions.



15 JW Bell, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Stefan Watermeyer (captain), 11 Rosco Spekman, 10 JC Roos, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Lambert Groenewald, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 De-Jay Terblanché, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Khwezi Mona

Substitutes: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Jason-Colin Fraser, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 Justin van Staden, 22 Hoffmann Maritz


15. Joe Pietersen, 14. S’bura Sithole, 13. Wandile Mjekevu, 12. Heimar Williams, 11. Andre Esterhuizen, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Philip van der Walt, 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Khaya Majola, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Monde Hadebe, 1. Dale Chadwick

Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Dave McDuling, 19. Daniel du Preez, 20. Francois Kleinhans, 21. Michael Claassens, 22. SP Marais

Read more on:    pumas  |  sharks  |  currie cup  |  nelspruit  |  durban  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.