Currie Cup

New-look backline for Cheetahs

2014-09-10 16:05
Rory Duncan (Gallo)

Bloemfontein - Free State Cheetahs coach Rory Duncan has rung the changes for his side's Currie Cup encounter against the Sharks in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

In the backline, only scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius and centre Francois Venter remained in their usual jerseys.

In the absence of injured fullback Clayton Blommetjies, Duncan opted to move Rayno Benjamin into the position, while youngster Maputha Dolo would come in for Benjamin on the wing.

With Raymond Rhule also out injured, JP du Plessis was promoted from the bench. Joubert Engelbrecht and Willie du Plessis were also welcomed back at centre and flyhalf respectively.

"It has been a difficult week with regards to injury. We have a couple of guys back, but we've also lost quite a few of our stalwarts," Duncan said.

"Rayno Benjamin will add a useful attacking dimension from fullback, while everyone else now gets the chance to prove their worth. The Pumas are going to be a difficult side and what better game than this one to show our capabilities."

The foward pack would see the return of No 8 Lappies Labuschagne, coming in for the injured Jean Cook. Caylib Oosthuizen would pack down at prop with Kevin Stevens dropping out.

Duncan also replaced novice Rudolph Botha at prop with another youngster in George Marich.

"Lappies has looked good in practice, but probably won't play the full 80 minutes. When you get back from a lengthy injury it is better to take it step by step."

Should Labuschagne only play one half, another newcomer Vincent Jobo could get his first taste of Currie Cup rugby from the replacement bench.

Kick-off for the clash is scheduled for 15:00.


Free State Cheetahs:

15 Rayno Benjamin, 14 Maputha Dolo, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Joubert Engelbrecht, 11 JP du Plessis, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Lappies Labuschagne, 7 Neil Claassen, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Henco Venter, 3 George Marich, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld (captain), 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.

Substitutes: 16 AJ le Roux, 17 Rudolph Botha, 18 Werner Lourens, 19 Vincent Jobo, 20 Shaun Venter, 21 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 22 AJ Coertzen


15. Tim Swiel, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. S'bura Sithole, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Tonderai Chavhanga, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Conrad Hoffmann, 8. Tera Mtembu (captain), 7. Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Marco Wentzel, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Kyle Cooper, 1. Dale Chadwick

Substitutes: 16. Monde Hadebe, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Johan Meyer, 19. Khaya Majola, 20. Cameron Wright, 21. Fred Zeilinga, 22. SP Marais


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.