Currie Cup

Kriel to lead Lions in Currie Cup

2015-07-28 14:15
Jaco Kriel of the Golden Lions in last year’s Absa Currie Cup final. PHOTO: Carl Fourie / Gallo Images

Cape Town - With Warren Whiteley expected to remain on Springbok duty, the Golden Lions have appointed flank Jaco Kriel as captain for the upcoming Currie Cup.

Whiteley, who led the Lions with aplomb in their impressive 2015 Super Rugby campaign, is part of Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer’s squad and currently unavailable for provincial duty.

Should Whiteley crack the nod for Meyer’s Rugby World Cup squad later this year, he would be unavailable for the duration of the Currie Cup.

The Lions have therefore officially named Kriel as their captain for the competition.

However, should Whiteley not form part of the final World Cup touring party, he could return to lead the team in the Currie Cup.

“Jaco is officially the Currie Cup captain but this situation may be reassessed if Warren Whiteley does return to the squad,” a spokesperson for the union told Sport24 on Tuesday.

Kriel, 25, was a standout performer for the Lions in Super Rugby and many pundits feel he was unlucky not to be part of the Springbok set-up this year.

He will lead the team this Friday when they tackle the Sharks in a friendly at the Woodburn Stadium in Pietermaritzburg.

Head coach Johan Ackermann on Tuesday named a 29-man squad to travel to KwaZulu-Natal.

The Lions will be without three key players for the trip, as loose forward Derick Minnie has been ruled out for the season with a knee injury.

Hooker Robbie Coetzee is also out for two weeks with a hamstring injury, while fullback Andries Coetzee is sidelined for eight weeks with a foot injury.

The Lions start their Currie Cup campaign away to the Eastern Province Kings in Port Elizabeth on Saturday, August 8.

The travelling Golden Lions squad is as follows:

Justin Ackerman, Fabian Booysen, Marnitz Boshoff, Ruan Combrinck, Ross Cronje, Stephan de Wit, Ruan Dreyer, Lourens Erasmus, Stokkies Hanekom, Alwyn Hollenbach, Lohan Jacobs, Jaco Kriel (captain), Ruaan Lerm, MB Lusaseni, Malcolm Marx, Sampie Mastriet, Howard Mnisi, Martin Muller, Jacques Nel, Mark Pretorius, Julian Redelinghuys, Ricky Schroeder, Courtnall Skosan, Kwagga Smith, Jaco van der Walt, Jacques van Rooyen, Anthony Volmink, Harold Vorster, Vainon Willis

Injured players unavailable for selection:

Robbie Coetzee (hamstring - 2 weeks), Andries Coetzee (foot - 8 weeks), Derick Minnie (knee - out for the season).


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.