Currie Cup

Howard starts at No 11 for WP

2014-09-03 10:29
Pat Howard (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Powerful outside back Pat Howard has been named in the Western Province No 11 jersey for Friday night's Currie Cup clash against the EP Kings at Newlands (19:10 kick-off).

Howard replaces SA Sevens star Seabelo Senatla on the left-wing in one of four changes to the WP team that beat the Blue Bulls 23-18 in a hard-fought encounter in Pretoria last weekend.

Twenty-two-year-old Howard scored Western Province's first try of the 2014 Currie Cup - when he played virtually the whole match against the EP Kings on August 8, after coming on as a replacement - and he will form a wing partnership with his WP Under-21 team-mate from last year, Kobus van Wyk.

Senatla's absence, due to an ankle injury, is the only injury-enforced change this week, with scrumhalf Louis Schreuder, No 5 lock Ruan Botha (in his first-ever Currie Cup start for WP) and tighthead prop Brok Harris all earning their first starts of 2014 (along with Howard).

WP Under-21 utility back - and SA Sevens star - Justin Geduld has been named on the bench, in what would be his first senior cap, whilst squad vice-captain Pat Cilliers, lock Manuel Carizza and scrumhalf Nic Groom will all start on the bench on Friday.

"The Kings pushed the Lions in Port Elizabeth last weekend and (Lions coach) Johan Ackermann said as much afterwards," WP coach Allister Coetzee told the WP Rugby website.

"We're expecting a tough encounter, and we certainly won't under-estimate the Kings, which is why we've kept the changes to a minimum this week.

"Obviously we had to replace Seabelo, but the likes of Brok, Ruan and Louis will all come in with minimal disruption and Justin Geduld's addition is an exciting one - given that he is able to cover so many positions from the bench."


Western Province:

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh (captain), 12. Jaco Taute, 11. Pat Howard, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Stephan Coetzee, 1. Alistair Vermaak

Substitutes: 16. Neil Rautenbach, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Manuel Carizza, 19. Rynhardt Elstadt, 20. Nic Groom, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Justin Geduld

EP Kings:

15. Scott Van Breda, 14. Ronnie Cooke, 13. Tim Whitehead, 12. Dwayne Jenner, 11. Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10. George Whitehead, 9. Kevin Luiters, 8. Aidon Davis, 7. Paul Schoeman, 6. Shaun Macdonald, 5. Steven Sykes, 4. David Bulbring, 3. Tom Botha, 2. Edgar Marutlulle, 1. Lizo Gqoboka
Substitutes: 16. Mike Van Vuuren, 17. CJ Van Der Linde, 18. Thembalani Bholi, 19. Stefan Willemse, 20. Tobie Botes, 21. Shane Gates, 22. Siyanda Grey

Read more on:    wp  |  ep kings  |  currie cup  |  cape town  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.