Currie Cup

Griquas unchanged for Pumas

2014-09-10 16:05
Hawies Fourie (Gallo Images)

Kimberley - Griquas coach Hawies Fourie named an unchanged side for their Currie Cup outing against the Pumas in Kimberley on Saturday.

Having beaten the Sharks last week in Durban, for their maiden victory in the competition this season, the return of Hilton Lobberts and Gouws Prinsloo made the difference.

Lobberts added much-needed grunt to the forward pack, while Prinsloo showed he had recovered from a lengthy ankle injury by kicking the visitors to victory in Durban.

Flyhalf Francois Brummer, scrumhalf Tian Meyer, flankers Carel Greeff and Marnus Schoeman and centre Jonathan Francke were available after recovering from their respective niggles.

"I must admit that it is nice to select a team when there are no new injuries. We have gotten much momentum from beating the Sharks and the focus this week has been to retain that for the match up against the Pumas," Fourie said.

"We know that it is going to be very tough and Kimberley is yet to be a happy hunting ground for us this year."

While their victory against the Sharks was an collective effort, Fourie said the impact both Prinsloo and Lobberts had on his side was telling.

"Gouws is a very good place kicker. He is very accurate and it is nice to know that 90 percent of the time you are going to get the points if they are up for grabs.

"Hilton is an absolute brute on defence. He returned from injury and played the full 80 minutes like a maniac against the Sharks. That is commitment you can't buy anywhere."



15. Gouws Prinsloo 14. Ederies Arendse 13. Johnathan Francke 12. Doppies la Grange  11. PJ Vermeulen 10. Francois Brummer 9. Tian Meyer 8. Ruaan Lerm 7. Carel Greeff 6. Marnus Schoeman 5. Jaco Nepgen 4. Hilton Lobberts 3. Ewald van der Westhuizen 2. Martin Bezuidenhout 1. Steph Roberts

Substitutes: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Maks van Dyk, 18. Hugo Kloppers, 19. Burger Schoeman, 20. RJ Liebenberg, 21. Abrie Griesel, 22. Dean Grant


15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 Jerome Pretorius, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Reynier van Rooyen, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Corne Steenkamp (captain), 5 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 4 Frikkie Spies, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Frankie Herne, 17 DeJay Terblanche, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Jaco Bouwer, 20 Sinovuyo Nyoka, 21 JC Roos, 22 JW Bell

Read more on:    pumas  |  griquas  |  currie cup  |  hawies fourie  |  kimberley  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.