Currie Cup

EP v WP back after 15 years

2014-08-08 09:16
Luke Watson (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - When the Eastern Province Kings host Western Province in Port Elizabeth on Friday night it will be the first time these foes have clashed in a Currie Cup game in 15 years.

VIDEO: EP Kings v WP preview

EP last played in the Currie Cup Premier Division back in 2002 and the last time they met WP in a top-flight game was in 1999.

It is a far cry from the old amateur days when EP were regular customers in the Premier Division. However, the advent of professionalism in 1996 saw the men from the friendly city fall from grace and it was only recently, when SARU raised the need for a team from the Eastern Cape to participate in Super Rugby, that there was a change in fortunes for the union.

Kings coach Carlos Spencer said it would be important for the team not to let emotion get the better of them.

"It's a big thing that we are playing in the Premier Division and it a means a lot to a lot of people," he told Die Burger.

"But we can't let our emotions run away with us. I also want my guys to enjoy the moment and not creep into their shells."

Kick-off for the season's first Currie Cup game is scheduled for 19:10 on Friday.


EP Kings:

15 Scott van Breda, 14 Ronnie Cooke, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Tobie Botes, 8 Luke Watson (captain), 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Thembelani Bholi, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Steven Cummins, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka/BG Uys

Substitutes: 16 Albe de Swardt, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Darron Nell, 19 Aidon Davis, 20 Kevin Luiters, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa

Western Province:

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh (captain), 12. Michael van der Spuy, 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Manuel Carizza, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Alistair Vermaak

Substitutes: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Frans Malherbe, 18. Jean Kleyn, 19. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Robert du Preez, 22. Pat Howard

Read more on:    wp  |  ep kings  |  currie cup  |  port elizabeth  |  cape town  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.