Currie Cup

EP Kings rotate for Griquas clash

2015-09-22 15:54
Lizo Gqoboka (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Several rotational moves and a hamstring injury to wing Siyanda Grey have seen EP Kings rugby coach Brent Janse van Rensburg introduce several changes to the team to play Griquas in a Currie Cup Premier Division fixture at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on Saturday (15:30 kick-off).

A grade three hamstring tear will see Grey sit out for a lengthy period and he has been replaced by Sylvian Mahuza.

There are several changes to the pack, with Lizo Gqoboka returning to the front row in place of Schalk Ferreira, who will be on the bench, along with hard-working loose forwards Thembelani Bholi and Tim Agaba.

Bholi has been one of the outstanding players in the Kings team this season and Janse van Rensburg said it was important not to overplay him.

"Thembelani has played the full 80 minutes for several matches in a row and we feel he needs to have a break at this stage," Janse van Rensburg said.

This means Cornell Hess will start at lock, with Stefan Willemse, Paul Schoeman and Jacques Engelbrecht making up the loose trio.

Besides the missing Grey, they only change to the backline sees Dwayne Kelly get a chance at scrumhalf, with Enrico Acker starting on the bench.

Janse van Rensburg said they were disappointed with their performance against the Pumas, to whom they lost 20-9 in Nelspruit on Friday (September 23).

"We were off the pace and did not get the sort of possession we needed from the set-piece play," Janse van Rensburg said. "We also lost the kicking game to them, not being accurate enough, and this week we need to focus on our processes and aim to play to our full potential."


Eastern Province Kings: 

15 Scott van Breda, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Phillipus du Plessis, 12 Tim Whitehead (captain), 11 Luther Obi,  10 Karlo Aspeling, 9 Dwayne Kelly, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Lizo Gqoboka

Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Simon Kerrod, 19 Thembelani Bholi, 20 Tim Agaba, 21 Enrico Acker, 22 Elgar Watts 



Read more on:    ep kings  |  currie cup  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.