Currie Cup

Du Plessis back as Bulls brace for WP

2015-10-14 12:04
Jacques du Plessis (Gallo Images)

Pretoria - Blue Bulls coach Nollis Marais has named Jacques du Plessis at lock for Friday night’s Currie Cup semi-final against Western Province at Loftus Versfeld (19:10 kick-off).

Du Plessis was a late withdrawal to the team that edged the Pumas 25-24 in Nelspruit last weekend, but is ready to take his regular No 4 spot in the team.

RG Snyman, who replaced Du Plessis for the Pumas match, moves back to the bench for his regular role as impact player, but his replacement in Nelspruit, Jason Jenkins, retains his spot on the bench.

Jenkins will take over from Ruan Steenkamp as the fourth loose forward as Marais opted for more bulk and size coming from the bench.

“This is what we trained for, to put ourselves in a position where we can win the Currie Cup,” said Marais.

“A semi-final is a difficult match. You play to win and survive, but it does not mean a trophy yet. You have to go and do it all over again a week later. But, if you lose, your season is over. We are determined not for that to happen to us.”

Blue Bulls captain, Lappies Labuschagne, feels that the Blue Bulls proved they are good enough to win this match.

“We have won one match each in our clashes this year, but I believe we got enough out of those matches to feel that we can win. They are a very dangerous side and have some of the best runners in the country in their team. That said, we also carry some big guns in our team and that is why we are able to host this match in front of our fans. We will leave nothing out there, that is a guarantee.”


Blue Bulls:

15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Lappies Labuschagne (captain), 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Pierre Schoeman

Substitutes: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Werner Kruger, 18 RG Snyman, 19 Jason Jenkins, 20 Ivan van Zyl, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 William Small-Smith

Western Province:

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Dillyn Leyds, 13. Johnny Kotze, 12. Juan de Jongh (captain), 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6. Rynhardt Elstadt, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Wilco Louw, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16. Michael Willemse, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Chris van Zyl, 19. Jurie van Vuuren, 20. Jano Vermaak, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Huw Jones


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.