Currie Cup

Coleman out, Du Preez in for WP

2015-09-11 13:42
Robert du Preez (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Robert du Preez will start in the No.10 jersey for Western Province in Saturday's Currie Cup clash against the Sharks in Durban (kick-off 17:05). 

Kurt Coleman, the original starting flyhalf, suffered a calf strain during the closing stages of Thursday’s final full team session and his injury worsened overnight.

Du Preez will thus make his first Currie Cup start, after two previous appearances off the bench, with the more experienced Demetri Catrakilis coming on to the replacements’ bench for Saturday.

“Kurt hurt his calf muscle in his final act at Thursday’s full training session,” said WP coach John Dobson.

“We were initially not too concerned, but his calf has not reacted well overnight.

“However, this is a great opportunity for Robert to make his mark at this level. Demetri has been very understanding of our plans to bring Robert through and we’re certainly very fortunate to have someone of his calibre to call upon from the bench.”

Revised teams:


15. Odwa Ndungane, 14. Wandile Mjekevu, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. S'bura Sithole, 10. Joe Pietersen, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Philip van der Walt, 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Francois Kleinhans, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Gerhard Engelbrecht, 2. Monde Hadebe, 1. Thomas du Toit

Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Dave McDuling, 19. Christiaan de Bruin, 20. Michael Claassens, 21. Heimar Williams, 22. Garth April 

Western Province

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Dillyn Leyds, 13. Johnny Kotze, 12. Huw Jones, 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Nic Groom (captain), 8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7. Rynhardt Elstadt, 6. Chris Cloete, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Wilco Louw, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16. Bongi Mbonambi, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Chris van Zyl, 19. Jurie van Vuuren, 20. Jano Vermaak, 21. Demetri Catrakilis, 22. Kobus van Wyk


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.