Currie Cup

Cheetahs wary of Pumas firepower

2014-09-04 13:47
Rory Duncan (Gallo)

Bleomfontein - Free State Cheetahs coach Rory Duncan has made two positional changes to his side for their tough Currie Cup encounter against the Pumas in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

He opted to replace experienced centre Joubert Engelbrecht with youngster JP du Plessis, while former Shimlas flyhalf Pieter-Steyn de Wet would get a starting birth ahead of Willie du Plessis.

"We are more than happy with the type of rugby Joubert has been playing at centre but we feel JP will suit the sort of game we plan to play against the Pumas," Duncan said.

"Pieter-Steyn also gets a start as part of our rotational structures."

Super Rugby player Jean Cook would spearhead a loose trio which also included youngsters Neill Claassen and Tienie Burger.

"We have spoken about the firepower of the Pumas with regards to their loose forwards," Duncan said.

"Guys like Tienie and Neill have really come to the party, while we all know the wealth of experience a guy like Jean Cook adds."

The Cheetahs had worked hard at their scrums after a poor display in early encounter against the Pumas in Nelspruit. Duncan said they had improved in leaps and bounds.

"We had a couple of disruptions with guys like Coenie and Caylib Oosthuizen out injured, but the younger guys have really put their hands up.

"We scrummed pretty well against Griquas and will take a lot of heart and momentum from that performance."


Free State Cheetahs:

15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Pieter-Steyn De Wet, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Jean Cook, 7 Neil Claassen, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Henco Venter, 3 Dolph Botha, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld (captain), 1 Kevin Stevens

Substitutes: 16 AJ le Roux, 17 George Marich, 18 Werner Lourens, 19 Vincent Jobo, 20 Shaun Venter, 21 Willie du Plessis, 22 Joubert Engelbrecht


15 JW Bell, 14 Jerome Pretorius, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Dylon Frylnick, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Corne Steenkamp (captain) 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Frikkie Spies, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Frankie Herne, 17 Dejay Terblanche, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Jaco Bouwer, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 JC Roos, 22 Hennie Skorbinski


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.