Currie Cup

Blue Bulls romp to victory

2015-10-02 22:00
Francois Hougaard (Gallo Images)
Pretoria - The Blue Bulls have one hand on a home semi-final following their 48-27 bonus-point victory over the EP Kings in Pretoria on Friday evening.

The home side turned in a characteristic second half surge to get them over the line scoring five of their seven tries in the final 40 minutes of the encounter.

The Bulls remain in second place on the log and opened a four-point lead over the third-placed Western Province with one match left in the league phase of the competition.

It was far from a polished performance as the home side seemed to revert to their old ways of trying to bully the Kings up front, but the visitors’ pack would have none of it.

Poor defence by the Bulls and a gutsy display by the Eastern Cape side saw the Kings go into the half-time break with both teams scoring a brace of tries in the first stanza.

Bulls flyhalf Tian Schoeman and Kings fullback Scott van Breda exchanged penalties in the opening minutes of the match.

The Kings claimed the first five-pointer of the night when they countered from a turnover inside their 22 where Sylvian Mahuza stepped past and pierced the defence with Tim Whitehead finishing and Van Breda converting.

The hosts bounced back immediately with flank Lappies Labuschagne scoring from the back of a driving maul before adding his second on the half-hour mark.

His second came courtesy of a break by Arno Botha, who offloaded to his captain for the try which Schoeman converted to give them a seven-point lead.

Van Breda narrowed the gap with a penalty conversion in the 36th minute before Kings scrumhalf Enrico Acker beat Marcel van der Merwe with some fancy footwork with Elgar Watts scoring to see the visitors enjoy a narrow three-point lead going into the break.

The Bulls got the rub of the green in the second half with the Kings reduced to 14 men when replacement hooker Edgar Marutlulle received a yellow card for repeated offences.

The home side capitalised immediately when Dries Swanepoel picked and went for the line after the Bulls set up numerous phases.

Six minutes later the Bulls scored again when Botha popped the ball to Francois Hougaard from the back of the scrum.

The nippy scrumhalf danced his way out of danger darting for the line from inside his own half to score the fourth and bonus-point try.

Hougaard again featured prominently in the next try when he made the initial break before debutant Ruan Steenkamp bounced a tackle before passing back to the scrumhalf.

The Springbok halfback juggled the ball but managed to get it under control before he got stopped short of the line with prop Werner Kruger scoring off the hard work done by Hougaard.

With 10 minutes left in the match Steenkamp added a try to his magical debut scoring from the back of a driving maul.

The Kings earned a brief respite with JP du Plessis scoring in the left-hand corner before the Bulls’ Jacques du Plessis score his side’s seventh try of the evening a minute from time.


Vodacom Blue Bulls 

Tries: Lappies Labuschagne, Arno Botha, Dries Swanepoel, Francois Hougaard, Werner Kruger, Ruan Steenkamp, Jacques du Plessis

Conversions: Tian Schoeman (5)

Penalties: Schoeman

EP Kings

Tries: Tim Whitehead, Elgar Watts, JP du Plessis

Conversions: Scott van Breda (3)

Penalties: Van Breda (2)


Blue Bulls

15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Rayno Benjamin, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 De Wet Kruger, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Reniel Hugo, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Neil Rautenbach, 1 Teunis Nieuwoudt

Substitutes: 16 Chase Morison, 17 BG Uys, 18 Willem Serfontein, 19 Freddy Ngoza, 20 Ruan van Rensburg, 21 Niel Marais, 22 AJ Coertzen

Eastern Province Kings

15 Scott van Breda, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 JP du Plessis,12 Tim Whitehead (captain), 11 Luther Obi, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Enrico Acker, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Thembelani Bholi, 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Steven Sykes (vice-captain), 3 Tom Botha, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Lizo Gqoboka

Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Simon Kerrod, 19 Paul Schoeman, 20 Tim Agaba, 21 Dwayne Kelly, 22 Karlo Aspeling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2019?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.