Currie Cup

WP recall big guns for semis

2014-10-16 12:51
Seabelo Senatla (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Western Province coach Allister Coetzee has recalled all his big guns for Saturday's Currie Cup semi-final against the Blue Bulls at Newlands (17:00 kick-off).

Flank Rynhardt Elstadt and inside centre Michael van der Spuy are the only starting survivors from last week's experimental line-up that took on the Sharks at Newlands.

Amongst the players recalled by coach Coetzee this week are skipper and centre Juan de Jongh (the team’s leading try-scorer this season), vice-captain and tighthead prop Pat Cilliers, the fit-again pairing of fullback Cheslin Kolbe and lock Jean Kleyn and SA Sevens speedster Seabelo Senatla.

Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis will play his 50th match for WP this weekend, with Nic Groom partnering him at halfback.

Scrumhalf Louis Schreuder and flyhalf Kurt Coleman, both of whom also reached the 50-game mark this season for WP, revert to the bench this week, where they will be joined by Oli Kebble, Brok Harris, Sikhumbuzo Notshe and young gun EW Viljoen.

“We’ve selected the best possible team to represent Western Province in Saturday’s semi-final,” Coetzee told the WP Rugby website.

“It’s fantastic to welcome back the likes of Kolbe and Kleyn from injury and to have Seabelo back from Sevens duty but, as with last week, I have faith in every player that goes out there to represent WP.

“I had my starting XV pretty much thought out earlier this week, but we had some tough calls to make on the bench.”

One of the “tough calls” made by Coetzee was opting to select two props this week, whilst the WP coach also revealed that centre Jaco Taute was not considered for selection because of his ongoing rib injury.

“Oli’s ball-carrying could be a factor in the second half on Saturday and not many teams are able to call upon a Brok Harris (with over 200 first-class appearances for WP Rugby) off the bench," said Coetzee.

“We are happy that we have ticked all the boxes in terms of selection and are looking forward to Saturday’s encounter against a very confident and much-improved Bulls team.

“Forget any previous results or encounters. Playoffs are a different beast altogether and we won’t be looking back, but rather looking ahead and focusing on our own processes and implementation thereof.”

Saturday’s semi-final at Newlands will get underway at 17:00, with the WP Under-21 team hosting the Free State Under-21s in their Provincial Under-21 semi-final at 14h30.


Western Province:

15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (captain), 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak

Substitutes: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 EW Viljoen

Blue Bulls:

15. Ulrich Beyers, 14. Akona Ndungane, 13. William Small-Smith, 12. Handrè Pollard, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9. Rudy Paige, 8. Jono Ross, 7. Jacques du Plessis, 6. Deon Stegmann (captain), 5. Grant Hattingh, 4. Paul Willemse, 3. Werner Kruger, 2. Bongo Mbonambi
1. Dean Greyling

Substitutes: 16. Callie Visagie, 17. Marcel van der Merwe, 18. Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 19. Wiaan Liebenberg, 20. Piet van Zyl, 21. Sampie Mastriet, 22. Jesse Kriel


Rona signs for Waratahs

2017-12-18 17:45

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the Currie Cup being cut to a one-round tournament in 2018?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.