Canada reveal RWC squad

2015-08-26 18:03
Tyler Ardron (Getty Images)

Ottawa - Ospreys back row Tyler Ardron will captain Canada at the Rugby World Cup after being named in a 31-man squad by coach Kieran Crowley on Wednesday.

Ardron missed Canada's 41-23 defeat to the United States in Ottawa on Saturday because of a knee injury, with Aaron Carpenter deputising in a disappointing third straight loss to the Eagles for the Canadians.

But Canadian officials are confident the Wales-based 24-year-old will be fit to lead Canada at the World Cup, where they face Ireland, Italy, France and Romania in the group phase.

Former All Black Crowley said he was confident the youthful Ardron would cope with the demands of the captaincy in what will be his debut World Cup, noting that he had skippered Ospreys at various times last season.

"Tyler is part of the leadership group at Ospreys and captained them during the Six Nations this year," Crowley said.

"He's young but will call on the experience of Jamie Cudmore, Aaron Carpenter, Hubert Buydens and DTH Van Der Merwe, who all have World Cup experience, to help provide leadership."

Although Ardron will have experienced team-mates to rely on, 18 members of Canada's squad will be playing in a World Cup for the first time.

France-based forward Cudmore will be playing in his fourth World Cup at the age of 36, only the fifth Canadian in history to reach the milestone.

Carpenter and Van Der Merwe will be playing in their third World Cup.

Canada head into the World Cup after a disappointing run of results, which included a winless campaign in the Pacific Nations Cup.

Canada squad for Rugby World Cup:


Tyler Ardron (captain), Ray Barkwill, Brett Beukeboom, Hubert Buydens, Aaron Carpenter, Jamie Cudmore, Nanyak Dala, Kyle Gilmour, Jason Marshall, John Moonlight, Evan Olmstead, Benoit Piffero, Djustice Sears-Duru, Jebb Sinclair, Richard Thorpe, Andrew Tiedemann, Doug Wooldridge


Conor Trainor, Liam Underwood, DTH van der Merwe, Jeff Hassler, Ciaran Hearn, Nathan Hirayama, Harry Jones, Phil Mack, Jamie Mackenzie, Phil Mackenzie, Matt Evans, Nick Blevins, Connor Braid, Gordon McRorie

Read more on:    rwc 2015  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.