Bulls dish out player awards

2012-12-06 13:08

Cape Town - Veteran wing Akona Ndungane was on Wednesday named the Vodacom Bulls’ Super Rugby Players Player of the Year, while another stalwart Willie Wepener walked away with the Currie Cup Players Player of the Year Award.

These two were among a host of awards given to players and staff at the Blue Bulls Company’s annual lunch, which incorporated the awards.

Ndungane was also named best back for the Currie Cup side, capping a fine season for the veteran.

Barend van Graan, CEO of the BBM, thanked the coaching staff and players as well as the BBC’s employees, many of whom received service certificates as well.

“We did not achieve our expected strike rate with regards to trophies and titles with only our Under-21s, Women Sevens and Craven Week sides that won their tournaments, but it was still very successful in many ways. Our Super Rugby side made the top six and playoffs of Super Rugby, the Currie Cup team played in the semi-finals and our Under-19’s made their final. A host of our players also represented the Springboks and a number of our junior players starred for the Junior Springboks in the winning of the IRB Junior World Championships,” Van Graan said.

“We lost a lot of our coaching staff to the Springboks as well, so in all, it was a good year for us in many ways. Our office staff excelled as well and I am happy that we could honour their contribution too.”

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke said the rewards will motivate his troops for the new season.

“It is always nice to reward people and a lot of these awards did just that. We are blessed to have some truly professional players in our set-up and they work very hard. This creates a fantastic work ethic, one the Blue Bulls are very proud of. Congratulations to the winners, it was well deserved. With next year’s pre-season just starting, these awards also serves as a timely reminder that hard work will pay off in the end.”

The various Players Awards were:

Super Rugby 2012    
Players Player of the Year: Akona Ndungane
Most Promising Player of the Year: Arno Botha       
Forward of the Year: Juandré Kruger
Back of the Year: Zane Kirchner

Currie Cup 2012
Players Player of the Year: Willie Wepener  
Most Promising Player of the Year: Louis Fouché     
Forward of the Year: Dewald Potgieter        
Back of the Year: Akona Ndungane

Vodacom Cup 2012  
Players Player of the Year: Ruan Snyman     
Most Promising player of the Year: Jan Serfontein  
Forward of the Year: Cornell Hess    
Back of the Year: Ruan Snyman        
Management Award: Tim Dlulane

Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-21
Players Player of the Year: Juan Schoeman  
Most Promising Player of the Year: Marvin Orie     
Forward of the Year: Wiaan Liebenberg       
Back of the Year: Courtnall Skosan   
Management Award: Andrè Volsteedt

Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-19         
Players player of the Year: Ruan Steenkamp
Most Promising Player of the Year: Andrew Beerwinkel      
Forward of the Year: Jacques du Plessis        
Back of the Year: Burger Odendaal  
Management Award:  Zama Dyidi


  • ockie.barnard.9 - 2012-12-06 13:45

    This is amazing. I went through all the awards and it is much the same as the other provinces. I expected: BEST PLACEKICK OF THE YEAR, BEST TOUCH KICK OF THE YEAR. HIGHEST UP-AND-UNDER OF THE YEAR, DROPGOAL OF THE YEAR.

      simone.dechandra.7 - 2012-12-06 14:54

      Long live King Kirchner and King Kruger

      mollie.kruger - 2012-12-06 15:39


      mollie.kruger - 2012-12-06 15:40

      And then maybe for the fans - BEST FAN AT MAKING PREDICTIONS NOT COMING TRUE...

      mollie.kruger - 2012-12-06 15:43

      I believe the Bulls bought new locks for 2013 - to make sure the fans remain at Loftus for 80 minutes...

      mollie.kruger - 2012-12-06 15:48

      Hey, where are all my posts disappearing to? Is the moderator a Bull?

      paul.coetzee1 - 2012-12-06 16:13

      The only CUPS in their trophy cabinet are "Meisikinds Bra". Talk about scraping the bottom of the barrel!

      koos.tonteldoos.1 - 2012-12-06 22:53

      @Paul, I am really glad "meisiekind" is back so he can tackle that small little hobbit Juan de Jong 20cm into the ground. Makes it worth watching rugby again. And then we can have a real centre playing for the Boks again!

      simone.dechandra.7 - 2012-12-07 07:23

      these awards will be dominated by the real hardmen of rugby next year. widowmaker olivier will get best forward and back award. while king kirchner will win all the rest.

  • lionel.kemm.9 - 2012-12-06 13:47

    Who got the plonker of the year award...........

      morne.vandyk.58 - 2012-12-06 13:59

      The whole team

      BulletjieBulBul - 2012-12-07 03:17


      simone.dechandra.7 - 2012-12-07 07:31

      stormers rugby awards: midget of the year: tied gio aplon and joe pietersen dance of the year: juan de jongh (gangnam cant believe i scored style) forward of the year: jebb sinclair and katie holmes back of the year: andries bekker team with the least tries of the year: the stormers turnstile award for the year: peter grant longest kick over poles of the year: joe pietersen (23 metres) runner up, peter grant (19.8m) moment of manliness of the year: peter grant refusing to kick and tossing the ball to joe pietersen speech of the year: perfected losing speech of jean de villiers in the HOME semi final players player of the year in the showers: joe pietersen

  • naeem.february - 2012-12-06 13:53

    Zane Kirchner Being Super Rugby Back of the year...just shows what a joke blue bull Rugby is!!! Haha Wp Groete:)

      will.hodge.524 - 2012-12-06 14:31

      You hurt his feelings, how can you say that about SA's most exciting back....NOT

      naeem.february - 2012-12-06 14:36

      No use swearing my mother out haha we still the champs, I c u got the surname of the best no8 in the country..haha...cnt now go0 with wp many years cupless?? And counting!!! LOL

      Flemstone - 2012-12-06 15:51

      Jurgen Visser doesn't even get a mention. He gained the most metres out of all the Bulls players, and made the most line breaks in the CC. In super rugby CJ Stander scored 5 tries and made the most turnovers for a Bulls player. Potgieter made the most tackles. Then again who cares, its the Bulls.

      simone.dechandra.7 - 2012-12-07 07:24

      long live king kirchner!!!

  • will.hodge.524 - 2012-12-06 14:22

    Really?? No up and under award??

      simone.dechandra.7 - 2012-12-06 14:55

      as opposed to the least tries for the stormers award? lets compare tries scored in super rugby for the bulls vs the stormers.

      simone.dechandra.7 - 2012-12-07 15:03

      Why don't we watch paint dry too then

  • meyerew - 2012-12-06 14:42

    Gaaaap. Ai, maar hierdie kapenaars verveel my!

      mark.knight.14418 - 2012-12-09 02:02

      Soveel so dat jy verplig voel om dit met almal te deel, Endriette? Get a life, man.

  • bootman.bokke - 2012-12-06 15:08

    They shoulda just given each player from the Bulls a little trophy...........seeing that they didnt win anything else. Shame.

      simone.dechandra.7 - 2012-12-07 07:25

      not the best chirp i have ever heard PS 3:0

      mark.knight.14418 - 2012-12-09 02:07

      Well, simone, there are some problems with that... 1. Your hearing is really not that good. 2. When you DO manage to hear something, your judgement is seriously lacking. 3. You're too dumb to appreciate a good chirp.

  • mollie.kruger - 2012-12-06 15:31

    I believe the Bulls bought new locks for 2013 - to make sure the fans remain at Loftus for 80 minutes...

      simone.dechandra.7 - 2012-12-07 07:25

      and next up......ancbashers chuck norris jokes!!!

  • pages:
  • 1