Brown to captain Bok Sevens

2010-08-25 13:44

Cape Town - Kyle Brown will captain the Springbok Sevens team announced by the South African Sports Commission and Olympic Confederation (SASCOC) on Wednesday that will participate at the Commonwealth Games in India in October.

Springbok Sevens coach Paul Treu recently met with representatives from SASCOC to finalise the team that will travel to Delhi for the Sevens competition, which takes place on 11 and 12 October.

Seven experienced SARU contracted players were named in the final squad of 12. Four players will be making their Sevens debut for South Africa. The new players in the squad are Free State’s Boom Prinsloo, who shone for Shimlas in this year’s FNB Varsity Cup, Bernardo Botha (Lions) and Lubabalo Mtembu and Sibusiso Sithole (both from The Sharks).

“With the injury to Frankie Horne, we decided to bring in Boom Prinsloo, who has impressed at our training camp. The three other new players in the squad can all make it to the top in Sevens and we see this as a superb opportunity to give them necessary experience,” said Treu.

“The core of our squad is very experienced. Kyle Brown, Chase Minnaar, Renfred Dazel, Ryno Benjamin and MJ Mentz were all part of the squad that won the IRB Sevens World Series in 2008/09, while Cecil Afrika, Chris Dry and Branco du Preez all featured for us in the 2009/10 season.

“We are going to India to win gold, but it won’t be easy, as most of the top nations will be there. Our first aim is to finish at the top of our pool and make it into the quarterfinals on the second day.”

South Africa, bronze medallists in 2002, head Pool B in India. Current IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens champions Wales, a resurgent Tonga team and the host nation, India, have been included in this group.

The Springbok Sevens team that will compete in the Commonwealth Games:

Boom Prinsloo (Free State), Chris Dry (SARU contracted), Kyle Brown (SARU contracted), Chase Minnaar (SARU contracted), Lubabalo Mtembu (Sharks), Cecil Africa (SARU contracted), Renfred Dazel (SARU contracted), Branco du Preez (Blue Bulls), Ryno Benjamin (SARU contracted), Sibusiso Sithole (Sharks), Bernardo Botha (Golden Lions), MJ Mentz (SARU contracted).


  • fraud - 2010-08-25 14:34

    Congrats to Old Dalian Lubablo Mthembu, who was only a matric pupil last year. Big things await this lad!

  • pages:
  • 1