Bothma wins big at Puma awards

2014-11-20 13:10
Renaldo Bothma (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - Steval Pumas outgoing No 8 Renaldo Bothma cleaned up at the rugby union’s annual awards on Wednesday night, taking home the big prizes on offer.

According to the website, Bothma, who has signed for the Cell C Sharks in the coming season was a popular choice after a storming Absa Currie Cup campaign for the Nelspruit based union.

Bothma was crowned as the Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup player of the year and the referee’s player of the year.

“What an honour to be rewarded with all the prizes. I can only thank my heavenly father for the talent he gave me, thank my support base in the likes of my parents, fellow players and the whole of Nelspruit community for this year. And yes, thank you to coach Jimmy Stonehouse for believing in me and giving me the opportunities I had. This lead to the great opportunity to play Super Rugby and World Cup in 2015,” Bothma said when receiving his awards.

Vincent Koch, who has since joined DHL Western Province, was another big winner. Not only was he crowned as the Most Promising Forward, but as the Forward of the Year and SupaPuma of the year.

Wilmaure Louw received the prize for the Most Promising Back. Lubabalo “Giant” Mtyanda surely deserved his prize as the Most Improved player of the Year.

De-Jay Terblanché deserved the title of Most Dedicated Player of the Year while Stefan Watermeyer lead by example on the pitch and scored the most tries for the Currie Cup season (4) and Justin van Staden scored the most points (100).

Watermeyer also received the Best Back of the Year for his Super15 run at the Xerox Golden Lions and for a great Currie Cup season in the Steval Pumas jersey.

The two best defenders of the season were Corné Steenkamp (forward) and Ruwellyn Isbell (back).

Steenkamp was also rewarded with the Players’ Player of the Year trophy. He has since retired and was recently appointed as the new conditioning coach at the Steval Pumas.

2014 Vodacom Player for 2014

Nominated: Renaldo Bothma, Wilmaure Louw
Winner: Renaldo Bothma

Most Promising Forward for 2014

Nominated: Vincent Koch, Lubabalo “Giant” Mtyanda
Winner: Vincent Koch

Most Promising Back for 2014

Nominated: JW Bell, Wilmaure Louw
Winner: Wilmaure Louw

Most improved player in 2014

Nominated: Justin van Staden, Lubabalo “Giant” Mtyanda
Winner: Lubabalo Mtyanda

Most tries in 2014: Stefan Watermeyer (4)
Most points in 2014: Justin van Staden (100)

Most loyal player for 2014

Nominated: De-Jay Terblanche, Brian Shabangu
Winner: DeJay Terblanché

2014 Best defender: Forward

Nominated: Renaldo Bothma, Corné Steenkamp
Winner: Corné Steenkamp

2014 Best Defender: Back

Nominated: Ruwellyn Isbell, Stefan Watermeyer, JW Bell
Winner: Ruwellyn Isbell

2014 Forward of the year

Nominated: Lubabalo Mtyanda, Vincent Koch
Winner: Vincent Koch

2014 Back of the year

Nominated: Justin van Staden, Stefan Watermeyer
Winner: Stefan Watermeyer

2014 Players Player of the year

Nominated: Corné Steenkamp, Renaldo Bothma
Winner: Corné Steenkamp

SupaPuma of the year

Nominated: Faf de Klerk, Corné Fourie, Renaldo Bothma, Vincent Koch
Winner: Vincent Koch

2014 Currie Cup Player of the year

Nominated: Renaldo Bothma, Vincent Koch
Winner: Renaldo Botha

2014 Steval Puma Player of the year

Nominated: Vincent Koch, Renaldo Bothma
Winner: Renaldo Bothma

Read more on:    pumas  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.