Matfield vies for IRB award

2010-11-25 14:48

Johannesburg - Springbok captain Victor Matfield has been nominated for the 2010 International Rugby Board's (IRB) player of the year award, rugby's governing body announced on Thursday.

Matfield is joined on the shortlist for the award by last year's winner, All Blacks' captain Richie McCaw, his team-mate Mills Muliaina, France's Imanol Harinordoquy and Australians David Pocock and Kurtley Beale.

The winner will be announced on December 1 when the awards for IRB coach of the year and team of the year will also be made known.

"The IRB player of the year award is the greatest individual honour presented annually in our game," said IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset.

"The six players nominated have all enjoyed an exceptional year of international rugby and have been judged on their performances in the RBS Six Nations, Tri-Nations, June and November Tests," he said.

The IRB Awards independent panel of judges which selected them consists of Australia's Rugby World Cup winning captain John Eales, as chairman, with Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphal Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustn Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga, Paul Wallace.

Between them, they have more than 500 caps and four World Cup winner's medals.

In May, Samoa's Mikaele Pesamino was named IRB Sevens player-of-the-year. New Zealand's Julian Savea received the IRB junior player-of-the-year accolade in June.

Women’s Rugby World Cup winner Carla Hohepa of New Zealand received the IRB women’s personality-of-the-year award in September.

Brian O'Shea received the IRB development award in October and Colin High was presented with the IRB referee award for distinguished service earlier this month.

Previous Winners of the IRB player-of-the-Year award are: Richie McCaw (2009), Shane Williams (2008), Bryan Habana (2007), Richie McCaw (2006), Dan Carter (2005), Schalk Burger (2004), Jonny Wilkinson (2003), Fabien Galthie (2002) and Keith Wood (2001).


  • 2coolnick - 2010-11-25 15:01

    You go Richie!!!

  • Johnny - 2010-11-25 15:08

    ...Go Victorious Matfield..!! .....Worlds best no 5..!! ......World's best captain..!!!!

      Johnny - 2010-11-25 16:15

      @Grant Wright, you know anything about rugby...?? .....youre a bigger joke than palooooooka PDV..!!.!! .......ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ..!!

      pmbman - 2010-11-25 18:29

      Worlds best captain ????????? I think not

      Vincent - 2010-11-26 06:15

      I agree 100% with you Grant. Victor has been nowhere for the past 2 years. Whoever nominated him also obviously thinks Ruaan Pienaar is good and must be there. And they do not know their rugby.

      Grant Wright - 2010-11-26 10:42

      @ Johnny.. Dude you live behind the borewors curtain and dont no sweet *anny all about rugby. Victor is one of the best line jumpers and that's were it stops. Its best you comment on bowls and leave the rugby for the real men...

  • Johnny - 2010-11-25 15:12

    .....and John Smit has been nominated for ...."Quota Player of the Year"...!!! ...and PDV for ...."Quota coach of the year"....!!!

  • Shayne - 2010-11-25 15:41

    Interesting.. Majority of the fools that post in these forums say Matfield sux and is dead weight. So what u fools gonna say now??? U going to argue with the rugby legends and the IRB?? U all base ur opinion on the last game u watched. Good for u Victor! Good Luck! Although ,to be honest, I think New Zealand will have a clean sweep. They been amazing this year.. And Johnny, our greatest chance of winning the 2011 RWC is currently with John Smit as captain. We need his cool head and leadership. The players gel around him like no other. He is well respected by all players/refs world wide. Not saying he is the best hooker/prop, but he is the best leader. Get with the program!

      Andy JOHNSTON - 2010-11-25 17:27

      Shayne are you for real regards John Shit? Your reasoning does not make any sense at all. What you are implying is that you can select a player who waddles around the turf making no meaningful contribution other than his supposed "Leadership", in that case we can then also select Morne' DuPlessis, Francois Pienaar or what about Mickey Mouse?

  • CronoslayeR - 2010-11-25 15:45

    Na Fourie Du Preez laas jaar niks gekry het, worry ek nie meer wie de hel player of watookal is nie.

      scipio - 2010-11-26 10:14

      Stem saam. Ek was seker dis tussen Du Preez en O'driscoll toe wen die klein k*nt richie wat die helfde van die seisoen beseer was? Die toekennings is palooka

  • mike - 2010-11-25 15:50

    Truely world class player who doesn't cruise on reputation alone. Hope he gets it but going to be tough considering our results. Richie is a cheat, don't really care that he gets away with it, still makes him a cheat!

      BCC - 2010-11-26 01:23

      mike you are an idiot. NZ supporters at least recognise Victor as a great player whereas you call 'the' greatest player a cheat because he continually beats you in all areas of play. Matfield has hardly had a stellar year. Isn't he the captain of a side that just lost to Scotland after the ABs put on a seven try thrashing? Sorry but not Victors year.

      scipio - 2010-11-26 10:16

      I agree Richie deserves the award this year, but after he won it last year by sleeping with Paddy O'brian and CO, surely they can't vote for him again?

  • Ragged-Tooth - 2010-11-25 15:53

    Seems the IRB are now handing out Razzie awards?

      Johnny - 2010-11-25 16:17

      ...Razzie awards..?? PDV...??? ....and John Smit...???

      Ragged-Tooth - 2010-11-25 16:36

      Johnny Naaaaahhh, I think this year the whole team can take the honors.

  • Karen - 2010-11-25 16:02

    Well, he'll definitely get my vote for best looking!!!

      Shenkin - 2010-11-26 09:19

      What??!! he looks like a baddie from one of those 1960's Clint Eastwood westerns. Shave the beard and cut the hair Victor, that look went out of fashion years ago.

      Ockert - 2010-11-26 13:33

      You must be hardup ?

  • scott - 2010-11-25 17:01

    2009-all blacks had a bad year, boks amazing year . . . but who won? mcwhore ! this year is going to be another all black, i rather have mills muli-hyena win it. i cant wait 4 boks to win the world cup on nz soil-there will be nothing sweeter for a bok fan ever.

      BCC - 2010-11-26 01:25

      Actually in 2009 the ABs didnt have any trys scored against them in the northern hemisphere and SA lost how many games? Yes NZ were well beaten by SA last year but it was without Dan and Richie and you had the easy draw.

      scipio - 2010-11-26 10:18

      Where you coming from mate? Dan was Absent in two games (1 vs Aus, 1 vs SA) And richie was no where near absent. He was Absent during the super 14. BCC your comment is utter BS, using lies to try and prove your legit XD what a chop

  • Chadwick - 2010-11-26 15:41

    The AB's remind me of a child who always gets what he or she wants. The Springboks play great and have very rough patches, then they lift themselves up and shock everyone. That's one of the things that make a great team and an interesting team. Not how much you win, but how you can pick yourself up and beat the best (AB's, Aus, Eng etc) after losses. AB's are the kind of team other teams want to beat badly. They're the team that sets standards in rugby for others. Even though the Boks have crushed them before, humiliating them, they're still brilliant. But Boks are the World Champions. And that's something the AB's desperately want. @Johnny: How old are you?

  • Chadwick - 2010-11-26 15:44

    And I think Victor deserves it. I'm not being biased, but really. The guy took over for John Smit only now now. He hasn't done bad at all. Given that he works with an idiot for a coach, he seriously hasn't done bad.

  • pages:
  • 1