Big guns back for Ireland

2013-11-14 19:56
Paul O'Connell (AFP Photo)

Dublin - Ireland will welcome back four members of the British and Irish Lions squad that beat Australia this year when they host the Wallabies on Saturday but there is no room for another Lion Conor Murray who drops to the bench.

Ireland captain Paul O'Connell, prop Cian Healy and flanker Sean O'Brien, who all came off the bench in last weekend's 40-9 win over Samoa, rejoin the starting line-up alongside Johnny Sexton who, as expected, resumes duties at flyhalf.

Scrumhalf Murray, who was used as a replacement in the last two Lions' tests, is replaced by Sexton's partner at Leinster Eoin Reddan, indicating that new coach Joe Schmidt wants his side to play fast and take the game to the visitors.

"I think Conor did well last week, I don't think there was anything the matter with his game, it's just coming into this series, we had a mindset of trying to grow the starting XV," Schmidt told a news conference on Thursday.

"It's an opportunity to broaden the squad a little bit, we have to have 30-35 players with the ability to play international rugby... I think it's a really good team."

The only other change from Schmidt's first game in charge sees 22-year-old Ulster centre Luke Marshall come in for Gordon D'Arcy, with Brian O'Driscoll's long-time partner at club and country dropping out of the match day squad all together.

Elsewhere, towering second rower Devin Toner gets the nod over Leinster team mate Mike McCarthy to line up alongside O'Connell while Ian Madigan's versatility earns him a spot on the bench ahead of Paddy Jackson who impressed at flyhalf last week.

"I think the squad has changed dramatically since I was last involved," said O'Connell, who has not started since the 2012 Six Nations championship. "There was a lot of injuries last year but that has helped bring a lot of guys through."


15-Rob Kearney, 14-Tommy Bowe, 13-Brian O'Driscoll, 12-Luke Marshall, 11-Fergus McFadden, 10-Johnny Sexton, 9-Eoin Reddan, 8-Jamie Heaslip, 7-Sean O'Brien, 6-Peter O'Mahony, 5-Devin Toner, 4-Paul O'Connell, 3-Mike Ross, 2-Rory Best, 1-Cian Healy

Replacements: 16-Sean Cronin, 17-Jack McGrath, 18-Stephen Archer, 19-Mike McCarthy, 20-Kevin McLaughlin, 21-Conor Murray, 22-Ian Madigan, 23-Robbie Henshaw


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.