Baby Boks team to face Varsity Cup Dream Team named

2015-04-19 10:22
Dawie Theron (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The national selectors have confirmed the Junior Springbok match-23 to face a strong Varsity Cup Dream Team in Stellenbosch on Tuesday evening.

The match will kick off at 18:30 at the Danie Craven Stadium and will be televised live on SuperSport 1.

Four players who represented the Junior Springboks at the 2014 Junior World Championship in New Zealand - Warrick Gelant (fullback), Dan du Preez (flank), Abongile Nonkontwana (lock) and Joseph Dweba (hooker) - will again line up for the Junior Boks.

The historic clash, which marks the first of its kind between the sides, is an important part of the Junior Boks’ preparation for the newly named World Rugby Under-20 Championship which will be hosted in Italy in June.

“This match is exactly what the team needs at this stage,” said Junior Springbok coach Dawie Theron.

“Although we started a while back with our training camp in Stellenbosch, we only had the full training squad together for a short while as some of the players had Varsity Cup and provincial commitments.”

Theron expected a tough test on Tuesday and said: “We had a good training session on Thursday morning against the WP Rugby Institute and it was great to test the guys in match like conditions. The Varsity Cup Dream Team, however, is very strong and they will no doubt give us a good workout. The Dream Team consists of the best players of the Varsity Cup and they also have several players who have played for the Junior Springboks in the past, so they will be familiar with our structures.”

The Junior Springboks to face the Varsity Cup Dream Team on Tuesday in Stellenbosch:

15. Warrick Gelant (Blue Bulls)
14. Kanyo Ngcukana (Western Province)
13. JT Jackson (Blue Bulls)
12. Daniel du Plessis (Western Province)
11. Leolin Zas (Western Province)
10. Ernst Stapelberg (Western Province)
9. Ivan van Zyl (Blue Bulls)
8. Hanro Liebenberg (Blue Bulls)
7. Dan du Preez (Sharks)
6. CJ Velleman (EP Kings)
5. RG Snyman ((Blue Bulls)
4. Abongile Nonkontwana (Blue Bulls)
3. Ruan Kramer (Free State Cheetahs)
2. Joseph Dweba (Free State Cheetahs)
1. Ox Nche (Free State Cheetahs)


16. Mzamo Majola (Sharks)
17. Jan van der Merwe (Blue Bulls)
18. Frans van Wyk (Western Province)
19. Jason Jenkins (Blue Bulls)
20. Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks)
21. Marco Janse van Vuuren (Golden Lions)
22. Brandon Thomson (Western Province)
23. Grant Hermanus (Western Province)

Follow the Junior Springboks on their journey to the 2015 World Rugby Under-20 Championship on Twitter at @JuniorBoks or on Facebook at     

Read more on:    baby boks  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.