Baby Boks scrape to victory

2013-06-09 21:06
Seabelo Senatla (Getty Images)

Baby Boks v USA

2013-06-06 08:24

See all the best pics of the Baby Boks against USA at the Junior World Championships.

La Roche-sur-Yon - The Baby Boks all but secured qualification for the semi-finals of the IRB Junior World Championship when they beat England 31-24 in La Roche-sur-Yon.

The Baby Boks were out of the blocks very quickly, scoring three first half tries, two by wing, Seabelo Senatla, before the opposition scored their first points to lead 21-7 at half-time.

However, the Baby Boks could not start the second half the way they started the first as England managed to get back into the game thanks to their captain, Jack Clifford breaking through the Baby Boks’ line to set up a try in the corner for Elliot Stooke. The Conversion was successfully slotted by flyhalf, Henry Slade.

It seemed to kick the Baby Boks into action as hooker, Jacques du Plesses drove over the line to restore their 14-point advantage.

Flyer Senatla was then denied a hat-trick as referee Mike Fraser brought play back for a high tackle and instead England’s Slade slotted over the penalty to reduce the gap to 28–17.

The Baby Boks responded with a penalty of their own through Robert du Preez, but when Henry Purdy scored and Slade converted to make the score 31-24, the Baby Boks might have been wondering how they could possibly be in a position to lose the match.

England applied the pressure thereafter and tempers flared, with England’s Tom Price and Baby Boks’ Irné Herbst being sent to the Sin Bin.

However, the Baby Boks held on for the victory, but will have to wait until Thursday when they play France to secure a spot in the semi-finals.

England - 24:  Tries: Sloan, Stooke, Purdy; Conversions: Slade 3; Penalty: Slade
South Africa - 31: Tries: Senatla 2, Du Plesses; Conversions: Du Preez 2; Penalties: Du Preez 4

England: 15 Anthony Watson, 14 Ben Howard, 13 Harry Sloan, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Jack Nowell, 10 Henry Slade, 9 Alex Day, 8 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi, 7 Luke Cowan Dickie, 6 Scott Wilson, 5 Elliott Stooke, 4 Dominic Barrow, 3 Ross Moriarty, 2 Matt Hankin, 1 Jack Clifford (captain)

Substitutes:  16 Scott Spurling, 17 Alec Hepburn, 18 Tom Smallbone, 19 Tom Price,20  Joel Conlon, 21 Callum Braley, 22 Ollie Devoto, 23 Henry Purdy.

South Africa:  15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Luther Obi, 13 Justin Geduld, 12 Handré Pollard, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Robert du Preez, 19 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Andrew Beerwinkel, 7 Jacques du Toit, 6 Luan de Bruin, 5 Irné Herbst, 4 Dennis Visser, 3Roelof Smit, 2 Jacques du Plesses, 1 Ruan Steenkamp (Capt.).

Substitutes: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Jannes Kirsten, 19 Aidon Davis, 20 Hanco Venter, 21 Dries Swanepoel, 22 Jesse Kriel, 23 Marné Coetzee.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.